Windows firewall - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2005, 01:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default Windows firewall

I have Windows XP. My question is simply... do I want Windows Firewall on? or will it annoy me from blocking things I WANT more than it'll help me?
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 02:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Windows firewall is weak, get a real one like ZoneAlarm (hey it's free!)
or Norton Internet Security if you want the whole package.
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 05:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Turn it on, you'll more than likely never know its on. It does work despite what others say.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 11:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 544
Default

i'm with Warez Monster on this one. The XP firewall is the least annoying software firewall i have come across and it works. Ok it is not the most configurable firewall out there but once you have it running you won't even notice it is there.
fitzjj is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 04:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4
Default

for what it's worth I use an old copy of Tiny's personal firewall...very unfriendly but totally configurable and effective, it was free too )
juicekrew is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 08:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Trend Internet Security 2005
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 03:05 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 29
Default

WInxp firewall is fine, but sometimes it can cause imcompatibility issues with some apps.. duno why. But i read up on some things when i had problems after disabling. Best bet would probably be simply enabling it.
SuperXMega is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 02:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 287
Send a message via AIM to neb1211 Send a message via Yahoo to neb1211
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jorsoft03
Windows firewall is weak, get a real one like ZoneAlarm (hey it's free!)
or Norton Internet Security if you want the whole package.
You are better off using the windows firewall instead of Norton unless you want your computer to run like crap. Also Norton's antivirus capabilities aren't what they used to be as now some viruses are able to hide from or disable Norton.

Also the windows firewall isn't that bad and is all you need if you have dialup or broadband with a router/hardware firewall.

As for blocking things, most times it will ask you if you want to allow the program to be able to access the internet. There may be a few incompatiblities with other applications but it my experience these are few in number.
__________________
~ Nick
Owner of Maximum CPU and MaxCPU Hosting
neb1211 is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 11:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 158
Default

I have had an issue with Exchange, with the firewall turned on it slowed down the amount of email that got sent. It took 30 mins for emails to come through when sending internal emails, after allowing the whole outlook program email would be recieved within 1mins. Dont know if it was a funny PC or what, but after doing it on all the PC's (15) it was fine.
__________________
I\'m not your Google Butler!
dexta182 is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 10:52 AM   #10 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

if you accident dowload a trojan or virus or just install a program that just want to spy, window firewall won't work. it only block inbound, not outbound attempts
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.