Windows Explorer Not Working etc. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-23-2006, 10:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 31
Default Windows Explorer Not Working etc.

alright.
i just reformatted like i always do but now my computer comes on after i install all drivers and restart and...no windows explorer...
i try to launch through task manager, but it wont come up or stay up.
right now im launching everything through task manager.

im pretty sure it isnt a virus or anything because its a clean reformat.
so i dont think i caught any bugs yet.

any help would be really appreciated.
__________________

f50fan is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 07:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

yikes...no explorer.exe AFTER a clean install? Let me ask did it come up OK RIGHT AFTER the install? Meaning before you installed the drivers? or did it do this from the very begining?
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 02:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 31
Default

it was all right during driver installs.

but now after a couple restarts it went up right after startup, then after like 4 seconds, it went down, then after a while it came back up and is still right now.
f50fan is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 02:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 31
Default

bump.
not working again.
f50fan is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 03:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

uninstall the drivers you installed, make a new profile, log into your new profile and delete the old one
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 05:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

use powermax to wipe your hard drive, then reinstall. you might have a bootsector virus
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 05:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

post a hijackthis log.

Download link is in my signature.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.