Windows Explorer Has encountered a.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-22-2005, 10:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1
Default Windows Explorer Has encountered a..

Help please....

Getting this error message whenever I try to launch anything related to the XP OS...

Windows Explorer has encountered a problem and needs to close, sorry for the inconvenience. (yah, shure...)

Also, same thing for IE.

Sound like a virus???????


Any ideas helpful....

Alli
__________________

IrishAugust is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 11:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 158
Default

When did this error start happening? Is SP2 installed?

Try it in safemode, get your hands on some spywear removers (ad-aware, spybot etc..) Run a virus scan.
__________________

__________________
I\'m not your Google Butler!
dexta182 is offline  
Old 03-23-2005, 02:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Bumblebee Tuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 213
Default

You can also get a trial version of spy sweeper from www.webroot.com. Also do online virus checks at www.trendmicro.com, and www.pandasoftware.com/activescan. Make sure that you do this in safe mode and with every user account that you have, for both spyware, and virus checks. To get into safe mode press F8 when you start your PC and you get the option to do it. You can alos try and do a repair by the recovery console.
__________________
http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_qui...er_mulcahy.jpg

AMD Athalon 64bit +3200 2.0GHz
Windows XP Professional
NVidia 9800GTX PCIEx
Creative Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
400Gig HDD
2Gig RAM
19\" LCD Widescreen 4ms
Bumblebee Tuna is offline  
Old 03-23-2005, 08:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Explorer keeps crashing, for one reason or another. You got a virus or spyware or something that may have corrupted it. Do you have the Windows install CD? If you do, boot from that and run the emergency repair utility. Don't use the console, because that will just bring you to a command prompt. And if you dont know what you are doing at that, you will have to restart and boot from the cd again. It's gets very annoying. Run the repair utility, and see if that works.
Him is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.