Windows error?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-05-2005, 09:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 31
Send a message via AIM to MarcoRyan
Default Windows error??

I've got a strange problem on my pc. There are certain icons, such as some install files that when I double click them, I got the following error message:
File location then:
"Only part of a ReadProcessMemory or WriteProcessMemory request was complete"

Anyone know why I'm getting this and is there a way to fix it?
__________________

MarcoRyan is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 09:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 40
Default

Cause: Some changes to the security settings in Windows XP SP2 (Service Pack 2) can result in a partially downloaded installation file.

Fix: In order to download a complete copy of the installation file, you'll need to go into your browser and add www.WHICHeverWEBpage.com as a trusted site.

1. Open your browser and go to Tools >> Internet Options >> Security >> Trusted Sites
2. Click on the button at the right titled "Sites" and add www.WHICHeverWEBpage.com to your list
3. Delete any existing copies of the installation file
4. Clear your session cache which is easiest to do by restarting your machine
5. Download a new copy of the installation file
__________________

n00bhead is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 11:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 31
Send a message via AIM to MarcoRyan
Default

Ok thanks.
I can try that. But the download file IS complete. I know that as a fact. Because I have the install file on disk and used the same disk to install the file before. Anyway, I'll try it out and see what the results are.
MarcoRyan is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 11:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 40
Default

Can you open the files from your disk?

Have you tried deleting the files already on your PC and replacing them with the same files you say that you have on the disk?


Do you have enough harddisk space to install it on to and enough free RAM to carry out the installation process.
n00bhead is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.