windows error - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2005, 02:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5
Unhappy windows error

friends,
i have windows 98se on my comp .....now a days i m getting a error message the message is as follow
" A fatal exception 0E has occurred at 0028:FF1B1FCB . The current application will be terminated "
after this message i have to restart my pc to continue
can anyone help me plz
__________________

anp4381 is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 03:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 151
Default

What application are you running at the time of the error ?
__________________

__________________
Be not afraid of growing slowly, be afraid only of standing still - Knowledge will get you somewhere, stupidity will get you nowhere
Catbert is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 08:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5
Question

at the time of error message i was on internet and most of the time after i start the internet or disconnecting the internet the error message appear
anp4381 is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 07:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

update your IE...
Make sure that the new instance has the propper sys req's.
Good Luck
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 07:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

Can you tell me the following things please :

1. what is the rest of the error message after the 0028 bit? (eg 0028:xxxxxxxxx in VxD VCOMM for example)

2. What type modem are you using? (ie cable or dial up) & what connection is it (USB or PCI for example)

3. What other software do you have running in the background?
Samm is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 01:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5
Default

if IE stands for internet explorer then i have internet explorer 6.0 installed on comp and it is running perfectly .......now i m very sure that the blue screen appear only when i start or shutdown my internet connection

up till now i have encountered 5 different types of errors they r as follows

1. an exception 0E has occurred at 0028:FF1DDB84 in VXD _ _ _ .This was called from 0028:C14B5BFA in VXD _ _ _. it may be possible to continue normally

2. a fatal exception 0E has occured at 0028:FF1B1FCB . The current application will be terminated .

3. an exception 0E has occurred at 0028:FF1B1FCB in VXD _ _ _ .This was called from 0028:C156D8AA in VXD _ _ _. it may be possible to continue normally

4. a fatal exception 0E has occured at 0028:C02B4713 in VXD IFSMGR(04) +0015E27. The current application will be terminated .

5.a fatal exception 0D has occured at 0246:016747FB . The current application will be terminated .

I have dial up connection in my home. the modem is dialup modem of the company lancer ,model no HSP56 Modem and it is internal modem PCI type. at time i m using only norton antivirus 2005 in the background .....some times i use yahoo messenger but it was not the problem until i installed this modem ..

well i have told u everything i know can u help me plzzzzz
anp4381 is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 08:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

Try this :

1. Run a memory diagnostic (eg memtest86 - http://www.memtest86.com/) to eliminate any RAM problems.

2. Go to Run... on start menu & type msconfig to start System config util. Click on 'startup' tab & disable all the entries. (you can probably leave scanreg, systemTray & task monitor enabled if you like)

3. Reboot & surf the Internet for a while (I realise that you will have no AV protection etc cos Nortons will be disabled at startup, so don't download anything). If you don't get any errors, re-enable the startup items one at a tiem to eliminate which one is causing the problem.

4. If you still get errors, you could try uninstalling the modem driver, remove the modem physically & connect it to a different PCI slot, let Windows redetect it & install drivers.

What com port is your modem assigned to & what IRQ is it using?
Samm is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 12:03 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Maybe it is a device resource conflict. Go into your System info and click on the conflicts/sharing
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.