Windows Device Failure - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-27-2005, 05:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 92
Send a message via AIM to V-tek
Default Windows Device Failure

I was brought a computer that was in service for a badpower suppy and system board, guy brought it to me, and an error comes up " Microsoft Windows detected and recovered from a device failure .... " and the resolution and color is on its lowest level...anyone know whats going on ?
__________________

__________________
Must be a computing error
V-tek is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 05:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

ummmmm, bad video card
__________________

__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 06:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

that or a bad port on the mobo. Also could just be drivers. If the driver fails, you can get an error like that. Take the video card to another machine and see what heppens
Inaris is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 08:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
urf
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 51
Default

recovered from a device failure? Can you up the colours and screen res now when its booted up ?
urf is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.