Windows Defrag? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-02-2006, 06:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Queensland Australia
Posts: 62
Question Windows Defrag?

I downloaded and installed over time both O & O software and Diskeeper Defrager both now disabled in My Computer/manage/services. When I go into start/allprograms/accessories/systemtools to find Windows Defrag it is not there as Diskeeper I know disabled it by default. When I go to search/defrag, I get a message saying check event log, which I do and get "defrager failed to connect to service." My question is, where do I find and enable Windows Defrager and put it back into all programs/accessories/systemtools?
Perhaps I have to uninstal both Diskeeper and O & O software, but I thought disabling them both in Services would do.
- Windows XP/SP2
__________________

wallace is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 07:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Default

heres where the defrag file is located: %SystemRoot%\System32\dfrg.msc

if that does work, try unstalling the programs. if that doesnt work, try system restore
__________________

kfc469 is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 07:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Queensland Australia
Posts: 62
Default

Thanks for you reply, but please do tell me how to get to

%SystemRoot%\System32\dfrg.msc

Step by step if you would be so kind
wallace is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 08:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=CZORZ2HY


download that, its the defrag from my pc, put it on thr desktop and try to launch it. If it works, put it where you want it and also check the services

Make sure Defrag is in the system32 folder, if its not, download the file below and copy it to there

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=LDE9WN2A

all files are from my pc
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 08:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

open my computer, open c drive, then windows, then system32

C:\WINDOWS\system32
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 08:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Queensland Australia
Posts: 62
Default

Thanks for your reply Warez, but could I take you back to my original question?

Which is, where do I find and enable Windows Defrager and put it back into all programs/accessories/systemtools?

Above is really what I want to do, not download more defrager files...thanks
wallace is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 08:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Queensland Australia
Posts: 62
Default

Warez - I have found it in C:\WINDOWS\system32 - but when I click on open a small black screen flashes and that is all that happens.
wallace is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 08:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

it was probably deleted some how.

if you download that files i gave you, set the path to this:

C:\WINDOWS\system32\dfrg.msc which will be the icon i gave you


and it should execute it, hopefully.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 08:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Queensland Australia
Posts: 62
Default

Warez, when I do a search it is in C:\Windows\system32
It is 41KB. does that sound right? I will download the file you sent, for which I thank you, however why is it showing in Windows if it is not there?
wallace is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 08:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

shortcut could have been deleted, happens all the time.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.