Windows defender in Vista ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2007, 05:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 192
Default Windows defender in Vista ?

Can windows defender that comes integrated with Vista be removed ? If yes , how please , i couldnt find it it Add/remove menu


Thanks in advance
__________________

weswes is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 10:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
Graphic Designer
 
mssssee2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Thessaloniki, Greece
Posts: 506
Send a message via MSN to mssssee2 Send a message via Yahoo to mssssee2
Default Re: Windows defender in Vista ?

No it can't but you can disable it and install another firewall.
__________________

__________________
Mike from Greece, 16

mssssee2 is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 10:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Windows defender in Vista ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mssssee2 View Post
No it can't but you can disable it and install another firewall.
Windows Defender is not a firewall. It is a Anti-Spyware applicaiton.

Quote:
Windows Defender is a free program that helps protect your computer against pop-ups, slow performance, and security threats caused by spyware and other unwanted software.
Taking right from their site.

Windows Defender home

Now to answer your question...No. It can be removed. Most firewall applicaitons dont turn it off either. Only the Security Suites that have built in Apyware applications will turn it off. Like the Eset Smart Security Beta, Aone Alarm Secuiryt Suite and hte TrendMicro Secuiryt Suite all Vista ready.

Defender isnt that good. But it is better to have that running than nothing at all. Plus it doesnt run all the time. Only when it is scheduled to do a scan at 2 AM. Only thing i found you can do. Open Defender and just exit out of it by the ? Menu. They will give a warning that you wont be notified by potentially harmful software. But if you really wish to shut it down that is the best way.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 10:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 192
Default Re: Windows defender in Vista ?

Thanks guys for the info , i guess i'll just disable it then ,i really dont like microsoft when it comes to malware products.

Regards
weswes is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 12:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Windows defender in Vista ?

Which i sunderstandable. Defender is at the bottom of the list. AdAware and Spybot are much better. So by all means disable it.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 05:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Graphic Designer
 
mssssee2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Thessaloniki, Greece
Posts: 506
Send a message via MSN to mssssee2 Send a message via Yahoo to mssssee2
Default Re: Windows defender in Vista ?

Ahh! Sorry I thought we were talking about Windows Firewall.
__________________

__________________
Mike from Greece, 16

mssssee2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Vienna (Blackcomb) mssssee2 Microsoft Windows and Software 16 09-23-2007 03:57 AM
Windows Vienna re-codenamed Windows Mesa ??? Joe Li Off Topic Discussion 30 08-31-2007 05:09 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
windows vista ultimate rookie1010 Microsoft Windows and Software 6 07-17-2007 08:31 AM
WinXP Pro 32bit or 64 bit? ZeeLex Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-07-2007 03:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.