windows default programs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-25-2004, 09:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default windows default programs

Where do you find the setting to change what windows uses for default programs, like wmp, outlook, and other thing? I have been searching and I cant remember where they are.

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 09:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

folder options
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 10:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

I dont see it in there.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 10:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

you can set outlook as default in internet settings, for winamp go to options/preferences and select asociated filetypes

always try the programs settings first, if there's not a settings....go to folder options and select the filetype you want to configure (eg .jpg) Select its properties and choose your photoprogram (paint or whatever) you want to open the file with.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 10:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Right-click on one of the files in question. Go to Open-With. When Windows opens the list of programs available, pick the one you want to open the files. There should be a checkbox somewhere that says something like "Always use selected program when opening files of this type." Check that.

You're done.

RTFM
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 10:17 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

i want to change it so that outlook is not the default mail client. I would like to use hotmail instead, so when something needs to send an email, hotmail is opened.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 12:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 422
Default

i don't think you can do it

hotmail is a email service

outlook retrieves and send email from your email service

you can set outlook up to get your email

me i prefer to use incredimail to get my email for msn, as I hate outlook
vance43211 is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 01:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Since Hotmail is a website, it cannot be setup as a default program on your computer.

You can, however, use Outlook to manage your Hotmail account. There is information about how to setup your Hotmail account in Outlook on the Hotmail website. There is also a pre-built control for setting up Hotmail accounts within Outlook.

If you do that, you can set your Hotmail account to be the default address that Outlook will use when you're doing emails. To do that, go to Tools->E-Mail Accounts...select the account and choose "Set as Default."
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.