Windows Crashing when playing games... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-30-2005, 09:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 18
Default Windows Crashing when playing games...

Okay, I just finished building my new right about a month ago and now it's starting to screw up pretty badly. Every time when I'm playing any game now, the game either A.) crashes to the desktop or B.) freezes up and I have to reboot the computer completely.

Mobo-MSI K8N Neo4-F
RAM- CORSAIR ValueSelect 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Dual Channel Kit System Memory - Retail
Video Card-MSI NX6600GT-TD128E Geforce 6600GT 128MB
CPU-Athlon 64 3000+ Venice S939 OC'd to 2.14 Ghz (I know I suck at OC'ing)
OS-Windows XP Home w/ SP 2

Before the computer freezes completely, it usually makes so weird screetching type noise. When it crashes to the desktop, it doesn't give any error messages or anything.

In addition, I'm finding that 1/10 of computer boots either just leave me with the sound of the fans (no picture) but another reboot fixes that.

Is there any way that I can see Windows error log or something of that nature? Has anyone had this problem in the past?


EDIT: I also want to point out that I've ran my computer through virus scanners, spyware scanners, just about everything and the computer seems pretty clean.

gaminlegend38 is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 06:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
KSoD's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647

Well i have seen that you stated it is OC'ed and that you are not the best at it. Maybe that is your problem. You might have misconfigured the OC and that is causing your problem. Take it back to stock and see if it continues.

I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 07:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn

could be the overclocking.

but, whenever i had a problem with mine overclocked, the system would just crash, as in reboot. not freeze.

i'd suspect graphics drivers since it's crashing down to the desktop and the system can still run.
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!

CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 10:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

it can also be a cheapo PSU. you don't want one that will:
fluctuate (the power output keeps changing)
not give enough power
give too much power

crashing because of a bad PSU is not uncommon

I doubt the overclock is causing the crashes, because all the Venice core CPU's are pretty much the same, except for the clock speeds which they were set to when they came out of the factory. the Venices can usually go up to at least 2.6GHZ before becoming unstable (the early ones could usually get 2.8GHZ) unless you didn't mount the cooler properly. you can check the temperatures to be sure. it shouldn't go above 50 degrees (C)
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 12:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 656

Perhaps you do not have the most recent graphics drivers
dnoch is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 04:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339

I do not think it is a graphics issue this time.
<form action=\"\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 05:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 18

I'm pretty sure it was the OC'ing because I changed it last night and it's worked ever since.

gaminlegend38 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.