"Windows could not start because of .." - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2007, 09:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default "Windows could not start because of .."

Help!

Upon successfully deleting vista, and the partition it was installed on, along with then installing XP, I encounter the following message after XP tries to reboot to complete installation:

"Windows could not start because of a computer disk configuration problem. Could not read from the selected boot disk. Check boot path and disk hardware. Please check the Windows documentation about hardware disk configuration and your hardware reference manuals for additional information."

Any thoughts or help? Thanks! (System info is in sig)
__________________

Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 10:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: "Windows could not start because of .."

In your BIOS what are your settings for your hard drive? It looks as if you ahve a SATA Drive. Do you have it set for ACHI or ATA?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 08:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default Re: "Windows could not start because of .."

Hmm, I believe the only option, IIRC, was actually just "Hard Disk".

Yep, here are my options:

Floppy
LS120
Hard Disk
SATA CDROM
ZIP100/250
USB-FDD
USB-ZIP/LS
USB-CDROM
Legacy Lan
_NEC DVD_RW ND-
Disabled

I would think, it would be hard disk, right? It's certainly not a SATA CDROM I have, it's not a floppy. Nor is it a zip, or USB, or lan based installation. What is that LS120?
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 08:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: "Windows could not start because of .."

Is there a spot in your BIOS that shows yoru hard drive configuration? That is where the ACHI or ATA would be.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 09:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default Re: "Windows could not start because of .."

I'm not quite sure where I'd look for this option. I guess my BIOS blow .. or I do.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 10:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: "Windows could not start because of .."

Well if you cant find it then the only thing i can think of is to try using GParted again and deleting all partitions and only creating the one you are gonna use for XP. But dont format the drive leave it as unformatted space from within GParted.

Maybe then the XP isntall will continue.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 11:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: "Windows could not start because of .."

computer name?
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-17-2007, 12:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: "Windows could not start because of .."

Error Message: Windows Could Not Start Because of a Computer Disk Hardware Configuration Problem
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-17-2007, 01:07 AM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: "Windows could not start because of .."

he probably need to take that superdisc (ls120) out of the boot order and make sure he doesn't have sata. it would also be nice to know the mobo or computer name, so I can can check some things
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-17-2007, 07:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default Re: "Windows could not start because of .."

Computer Name? Eh? It's custom built, not pre-built, like a Dell.

Okay, so try installing Windows on the hard disk, with their being no partitioned formatted? And what's GParted?
__________________

Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM
Computer won't start POST etc etc..plz help Kruzz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 08-09-2007 02:58 PM
AMD X2 5000 OC?? Where to start? Ice8168 Overclocking and Modding 16 07-19-2007 11:10 PM
Start menu Sticks ? NayNay1991x Microsoft Windows and Software 6 07-03-2007 12:30 PM
Unable to start windows??? trose Microsoft Windows and Software 2 05-09-2007 09:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.