Windows Com Ports - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-20-2003, 07:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 18
Default Windows Com Ports

This PC has suddenly decided it has only one com port. (Device Manager)

Endeavouring to add port (AddNew Hardware) it starts from com5, I need to get back com2.

Inspite of this the Modem is declared to be on com4. And works !

Please , how can I restore 2,3 ? I do need 2 for other equipment.
__________________

funf is offline  
Old 01-20-2003, 11:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

You will have to manual change the IRQ of Com2 in your BIOS. But your hardware and software will have to support the change.

Com1 and Com3 use the same IRQ (4) and Com2 and Com4 use the same IRQ (3). While each has a different base I/O address, you will still need to change the IRQ in your BIOS.

Normally IRQ 2/9 (they are the same), 10, 11 and 12 are open. So if your MoBo allows it, you should be able to change with (hopefully) no problems.

Hope this helps.
__________________

__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 01-22-2003, 09:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 18
Default

Sadly I seem to be unable to modify the settings of a port I do not "HAVE".
funf is offline  
Old 01-22-2003, 09:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

ahem. he said to change it in your BIOS. I guaruntee, that somewhere in your BIOS (NOT device Manger) is a setting to change IRQ's for all your com ports.
__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 01-23-2003, 12:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

Thanks Ecniv. lol.
__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 01-23-2003, 11:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 18
Default

Ah ha, will check that in the AM,

Enciv, is it a hardware or software prob', maybe just "firm"

Thanks
funf is offline  
Old 01-24-2003, 10:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 18
Default

Hi Enciv,

Sadly no joy, IRQ settings in BIOS dont have scope beyond Auto/Manual.

No Com or Serial setting seem to be on offer.

Is there a way in DOS ?

Win2k still converts any Mod of Com1 to that >4
__________________

funf is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.