Windows Boot - Error - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-14-2005, 03:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8
Default Windows Boot - Error

I have a problem, I know it has to do something with the boot.ini which is located in Startup and Recovery. But I cannot find the solution to this boot problem. The error pops up before advancing to the windows boot screen. Such as "Please select an operating system to start." The following options have it to boot to "Windows XP Professional" or "Windows XP Professional (Original)." In addition, I have one hard drive partitioned into two. I installed Windows XP Professional with SP2.

Quote:
[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOW S
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Micro soft Windows XP Professional" /fastdetect /NoExecute=OptIn
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Micro soft Windows XP Professional (Original)" /fastdetect /NoExecute=OptIn
Thank you.
__________________

Norman is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 03:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Go to Start / Run / type MSCONFIG / go to the boot.ini tab / click Check all boot paths and more than likely, one of those are invalid. When it finds it, it will ask you if you either want to delete it or remove it. Let me know if it works.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 03:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8
Default

It appears that all boot paths are fine. To what my destinction of the two boot are XP Professiona or XP Professional (Original)?
Norman is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 03:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Are both of them working operating systems?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 03:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8
Default

Yeah
Norman is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 03:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

You can also change the time it displays mulitple operating systems to 1 sec, instead of the default 30 in the control panel, advanced, startup and recovery.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 03:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8
Default

Yeah, but I don't want to ignore the issue, I want to know what the problem is. I was wondering what is Windows XP Professional (Original)?
Norman is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 03:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Set the one you want to default so that it boots to it first...move it up or down..does it give you the option to delete it..
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 03:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8
Default

Well I deleted it in notepad which was multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Micro soft Windows XP Professional (Original)" /fastdetect /NoExecute=OptIn and it worked fine. Actually whether I boot the other, it would work fine as well. So now, it boots properly, I think it needed to know which boot OS it had to boot to. But my concern is which is the proper one. For now I am booting with multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Micro soft Windows XP Professional" /fastdetect /NoExecute=OptIn. I will check if my other computer boots to the same boot file.

--

does it give you the option to delete it..

--

Well I don't think it has a option of deleting the file, however, I could delete it manually using notepad.
Norman is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 03:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Did you have one with sp2 and without? or did both have it?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.