windows backup file larger than source?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2007, 09:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13
Default windows backup file larger than source??

I got a WD "My Book Essential" 160gb external drive for Christmas, and as it did not come with backup software, I decided to try the Windows backup utility.

I reformatted the new drive from FAT32 into NTFS, and then I did a complete backup of the entire system. It asked for a diskette to create a boot disk, and then completed fine. However, when I looked at the .bkf file to see how large it was, it was 46 gb!! My hard drive on my pc that I backed up only shows 32 gb used. How could the backup file be larger than what was backed up? Is there some option/feature that I need to change?

I have a Dell desktop, XP Home.

Thank you for any advice!
__________________

Cinder is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 12:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13
Default

Did I post this in the wrong forum? No one has any ideas at all? Is my question "stupid" (thinking that is reason for no replies?)??

I have scoured the net for some clue on this and have come up empty.
__________________

Cinder is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 12:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

Im confused

You fromatted, then you backed up???
__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 12:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13
Default

The NEW external drive was formatted in FAT32. My initial attempt at using the backup utility failed as the .bkf file was too large (4 gb size limit) so...I reformatted it...the EXTERNAL DRIVE...to the NTFS format.

Then I performed a backup of my PC...to the external drive. Which worked fine. But the .bkf file that the backup created, on the external drive, is MUCH larger than the hard drive on my PC. And I don't understand why there is such a huge difference.

Clearer?
Cinder is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 12:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

a little.

try this instead of backing up everything on the HD, try let me choose what to back up and check all the boxes and see how big the file it backs up to is.
__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 12:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13
Default

Okay...I'll try that tonight (at work now). So are you thinking that there is "system" stuff that gets 'bundled' into the backup file?

The reason I did that type of backup was that I thought I needed to, in order to have a "restoreable" backup. This is my first experience with the Windows backup utility, so am unsure of results to expect.

(Thanks for your help).
Cinder is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 01:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

Only thing im not sure of is if it will create a restore disk for you, did backing up everything give you that option? The way I told you youd have to get XP on there first by whatever means recovery partition or disc then restore the backup.

but im mostly interested in the file size it gives you.
__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 01:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13
Default

Yes...it asked me to insert a diskette (surprised at that since not everyone has that type drive these days) for a boot disk.

I will let you know results after I try it this evening.
Cinder is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 01:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 01:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 76
Default

Personally I used Windows backup utility a long time ago. Since that time I've been using True Image by Acronis in order to backup my system. And during its usage I've encountered a problem similar with yours. I tried to backup a 3 GB of data to the external drive but the final image was 120 Gigs (my internal hard drive is 120 Gigs) and as I have discovered later it was related with the file system of my internal drive unfortunately it was corrupted. So maybe your problem is the same.
__________________

Defence is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.