Windows Activation - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-15-2003, 02:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to emjlr3
Default Windows Activation

I don't know what happened but my computer never told me I needed to activate XP. I heard it through this forum so i went investigating in my computer. I searched for activation and it gave me a html document. I click it but it doesn't load, it gives me all these errors and i cant click anything on the site. So i can't activate it. What is the number I can call to activate it or can someone give me the link or something so I can activate it over the internet. I went to the windows activation site by microsoft and all that does it tells you about it. It doesn't tell you a number to call or what to do on your computer to activate. Some one please help me, ty !

I ve attached the html document that is on my computer at home.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg mellennia.jpg (12.3 KB, 34 views)
__________________

emjlr3 is offline  
Old 08-15-2003, 02:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

Is it a legitimate copy?

When you first install a legit copy, it will ask you if you want to activate your copy and you can pick no, it will then work for 30 days before you have to activate it or reinstall it.

If it is not a legit copy, there are work arounds for the activation and it will not ask you to activate it.
__________________

__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 08-15-2003, 02:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

or perhaps its been activated.
devlish96 is offline  
Old 08-15-2003, 10:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2
Default

Did you buy a copy of xp and install it yourself, or did you buy a computer with it pre-loaded? Most systems that come with xp already on them are already activated.
miltoney is offline  
Old 08-15-2003, 10:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to emjlr3
Default

i bought it from dell, and it came preloaded, so your telling me that it has already been activiated and i have nothing to worry about??
emjlr3 is offline  
Old 08-16-2003, 05:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

well we've got a laptop from Dell and it already came activated, i don't know why it shouldn't be activated if you got it with XP pre-loaded
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-16-2003, 01:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2
Default

I am sure it is already activated, if it wasn't, believe me, it would let you know, over and over...Heres a simple way to tell, untill I activated mine, when I clicked start, at the very top of the start menu, right above 'windows catalog', was an 'activate windows' link. As soon as I activated, this disapeared.
miltoney is offline  
Old 08-22-2003, 05:23 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1
Default

if you click on start programes accessories then system tools you should see Activate Windows. If you then click on that it will tell you if windows is already activated

HTH
Alfie is offline  
Old 08-22-2003, 11:51 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman
Default

XP Professional Corperate edition doesn't require activation.

Also, be carefull if you upgrade, you might have to re-activate it.
__________________

__________________


www.lostman.us
Lostman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.