Windows Activation - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2006, 10:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 175
Send a message via AIM to Silent_Joka
Default Windows Activation

I am havin' some problems activating Windows XP Home Edition, When I click to activate it, I get that it's not able to connect to the server... I have an internet connect, Should it be doing this? And, I can't call because I have a block on my phone to dial numbers such as microsoft's to activate it, and I am using a Cable connection... Which when I activated at another house (same computer, different connection type (dial-up)) It worked fine on activation...
__________________

Silent_Joka is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 10:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

firewall could be blocking it. also check that you truly have connection to the internet by pinging yahoo or somthing like that.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 11:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 175
Send a message via AIM to Silent_Joka
Default

I'm on the computer right no need to do anything pinging... And I am not running a firewall, could it be my router?
Silent_Joka is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 11:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I had issues activating on wireless
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 11:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

A Windows XP will typically remind you to activate the product (most users will have 30 days to activate XP after installation). To activate XP manually, you can use the Start menu shortcut in the System Tools Accessories folder. Failing that at the command prompt, type

oobe/msoobe /a
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 11:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I called on one and hook the wired ethernet plug up on the other
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 02:21 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

it wouldnt let me activate.. after all the stuff i upgraded
I had to call them, and it involved a whole bunch of numbers i had to type in.

I HAD SOME GUY I COULDNT EVEN UNDERSTAND!!!
IT TOOK LIKE 10 MINS!!!
__________________

alexsabree is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.