windows 98 wont instal - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-14-2004, 06:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4
Default windows 98 wont instal

ok, i have had windows 98se installed on this pc before. but i have since installed windows xp, and xandros linux. so when i tried to instal windows 98 again, it acted like it installed perfectly, but..... when it reboooted after the install, it didnt boot. it keeps freezing on the "win98" loading screen. i have tried to reinstal several times with backup disks. any ideas on why it might do this?? what more information do you need?
__________________

wizzard is offline  
Old 12-14-2004, 06:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

so, right now you have xp and linux installed, and you're trying to install 98se?

welcome to tf btw =)
__________________

Demalii is offline  
Old 12-14-2004, 10:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default Re: windows 98 wont instal

Quote:
Originally posted by wizzard
ok, i have had windows 98se installed on this pc before. but i have since installed windows xp, and xandros linux. so when i tried to instal windows 98 again, it acted like it installed perfectly, but..... when it reboooted after the install, it didnt boot. it keeps freezing on the "win98" loading screen. i have tried to reinstal several times with backup disks. any ideas on why it might do this?? what more information do you need?
did you format with a 98 boot disk?
derrmc is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 02:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4
Default

well... i have several hard drives, so.... its not as bad as it sounds. i have my OS installed on my hotswap bay, so i have to phisicaly change things to change OS. but yes, i have xp and linux installed on 2 seperate drives.

windows 98 boot disk..... i dont have a floppy drive to my name. havent for about 3 years.... but i did use the 98 disk to format the drive to fat 32. also, i have tried using linux and winxp to format it to fat32. so does that answer the questions?

oh, and ty for welcome to the forum glad to be aboard.

i will post system specs in my sig
wizzard is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 04:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

Are you installing 98 on one of the 3 drives 3 10-15 gig drives.It sounds like the boot sector is getting screwed up.Can you take out the other 2 operating system hard drives while you install 98.like un plug them.And then plug them back in.Im just guessing here.I always have a pain in my ars when i use multable operating systems dont do it anymore.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 09:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4
Default

ok, so i wasnt very clear.....sorry.... the way it werks is, i have xp on one o the small drives... and linux on another... they go in my mobile rack tray. only 1 at a time. so, when i install an os, there is no other os attatched to the pc. just blank. i have even went as far as to unplug all my drives except a hard drive with no partitions, and a cdrom...... so im thinking something on the motherboard MIGHT be causing it..... but im not sure...
im pretty adept at handling computers normaly. i built this 1 and all the others in the house.... but im just having a prob i dunno how to fix..... i think i tried flashing the bios already.... hmm... i think so, but wait, no this bios doest flash, its a dual, and so it resets or something instead..... not sure if this would affect it
wizzard is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 12:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

Ive never heard of a motherboard not letting you install a OS.Are you sure the hard drive isnt failing.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 07:20 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4
Default

ive tried to install on 3 different drives....... sounds like im outta luck. i guess there will be no windows 98 for me oh well, at least i still got my linux and xp
wizzard is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 08:39 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

wizzard,

Have you installed any OS previously in that Hard Disk (The one in which you can't install 98 now) ?
intercodes is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 11:49 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 29
Default

Format it again to fat32 using XP cd and then installl win98 maybe some how you had left it on NTFS?

can you do fdisk?
__________________

Labtech is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.