Windows 98 upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2006, 07:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default Windows 98 upgrade

I was supposed to get windows XP pro for my computer but that deal fell through so i am stuck without an OS for my new computer. What i can do is install windows 98 that i do own and then use the windows upgrade to XP home edition. Will this cause any problems with my computer (in sig)? Should i wait and get XP pro and is there much of a difference between the two to justify getting the pro? Thanks for the help.
__________________

thebleakness is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 08:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

instal 98 then run the xp upgrade cd and thats it. your pc will be fine with it
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 08:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

Thanks warez. I will do that right now then.
thebleakness is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 08:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

ok...just follow the prompts and you will be in XP shortly..
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 09:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Buffalo, WY, USA
Posts: 226
Default

Cant you just put the XP Upgrade CD in first like your gona install it, then it will ask you to put a diff. windows CD in (your 98 CD) to verify that you have an old copy of windows? That way you dont have to do TWO installs. I think you would end up getting a cleaner install of XP that way anyway, instead of installing XP over 98. Thats they way I used to do it when installing windows 98 on my old computer, the 98 CD was just an upgrade so it would tell me to put my 95 CD in just to verify that I owned a full copy of windows. Saves a lota time atleast.

And can you even use XP Upgrade with something as old as 98? I mean I thought M$ made it so you had to have a newer verstion of windows like ME or 2000 to be able to upgrade. That way you have to fully buy one every once in a while to be able to have a copy to upgrade from. Otherwise ppl could of bought Win 95 or something back in the day and keep upgrading for cheap off it? I dunno.
Tro1086 is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 09:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 239
Default

Do as Tro1086 said and install XP like its a full version and just verify your Windows 98 CD. It will be quicker to install that way and it will also run signifficantly better than if you were to install XP Pro over a DOS based operating system like Windows 98. You would also have to convert your file system to NTFS, which wouldn't run as well as having it NFTS to begin with.
BandwidthHogg is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 09:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

Oopes, oh well. I started installing already and it too about 2 minutes to install windows 98 anyways. Ill try this first and if i dont get good results, ill take it off and start anew.
thebleakness is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 09:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

I have 98 installed but it wont go past the booting screen. Its been on it for a while and nothing changed. Could it possibly be that it wont run on my system?
thebleakness is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 09:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Buffalo, WY, USA
Posts: 226
Default

I would think Win 98 Should run on pretty much anything? Unless you need to do something special for the RAID setup or the Optron processor or something. Maybe just a bad install? I know installing windows ME on my old machine would give me a BSOD every time I installed it from a fresh format (just gues to show how ****ty ME is, gives you BSOD before its even installed!!! god that makes me laugh)

If you cant get it to boot I would just say wipe the drive again and start with the XP CD first.
Tro1086 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 12:16 AM   #10 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

98 on a raid. good luck

follow Tro1086 advice. it will recognize the 98 disc
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.