Windows 98 SE administrative functions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-17-2004, 03:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 380
Default Windows 98 SE administrative functions

How do I enable administrative functions under Win98SE? (eg. disabling displaying the Display Properties at the Control Panel for non-administrative users)
__________________

piggysmile is offline  
Old 11-17-2004, 05:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 106
Send a message via ICQ to suker Send a message via AIM to suker Send a message via Yahoo to suker
Default

huh£¡ i have thrown away Win98 for a few years!
__________________

__________________
Never too Old to Learn
Never too Old to Make Friends


AIM : cqpc120
MSN : cqpc120@msn.com
Yahoo: cqpc120
suker is offline  
Old 11-17-2004, 07:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to VICone Send a message via Yahoo to VICone
Default

I didn't even know 98 had admin functiions
__________________
MCSA, MCP (070-210, 070-218, 070-215), A+, Network+, Security+<br>
<a href=\"http://profiles.myspace.com/users/17229411\" target=\"_blank\">MySpace</a> | <a href=\"http://mcmcse.com\" target=\"_blank\">MCMCSE</a> | <a href=\"http://brainbench.com\" target=\"_blank\">Brainbench : Free Certifications</a>
VICone is offline  
Old 11-17-2004, 09:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 380
Default

yes it does. in fact it restricts a normal user from opening Display Properties and User Profile from the Control Panel. It doesnt even have the Find command in the Start Menu.

I was also surprised that 98 has these admin stuff. Maybe our school technician has tweaked or installed a non-registry program that does that.

I just definitely have no idea how that became possible.
piggysmile is offline  
Old 11-17-2004, 09:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

You have to do this through the user setup in the Control Panel. You can have multiple users on the box (as I'm sure you know) and each of them can have different access rights to the system (ie - some can be admins, while others are just "Standard Users").

If you have a user on your box that you don't want to give the right for them to install software, etc, then you need to lower their user-account access rights.

However, in 98SE you don't have NEARLY as much control over the users as you do in later systems (NT, 2000, and especially XP).

If you have a setup where you absolutely must keep control, then I would suggest upgrading to 2000 (you can't buy NT anymore or get it supported by MS anymore, so 2000 is the least you can get.)
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 11-17-2004, 02:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

Windows registry guide - Security

this site will give you registry hacks for windows
office politics is offline  
Old 11-17-2004, 04:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Oh yes. The guy doesn't know how to setup his user accounts, and you want to send him on a registry witch-hunt. Good one. I'll get the pop-corn.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 11-18-2004, 05:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 380
Default

I really do not use Windows' security features because I'm the only one who uses my computer.
piggysmile is offline  
Old 11-18-2004, 05:28 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 380
Default

Thanks to you guys. Now I know what our school techie did.

Registry->HKEY_CURRENT_USERS->Software->Microsoft->Windows->Current Version->Policies->System-> then add DWORD NoDisplayCPL.
__________________

piggysmile is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.