Windows 98 Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2005, 09:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to swhawk117 Send a message via Yahoo to swhawk117
Default Windows 98 Problem

This is gonna be long one, and I hope I'm in the right place.

My stepsister has an old computer, Windows 98, which was once used as our family computer. When her and her mother first got their computer, her mother set up this computer so they would each be able to log in under separate accounts. I think she did this under Network Neighborhood.

Anyways, the computer ended up getting a virus and, after removing the virus (and erasing several system files in the process), my stepmom gave the computer to my stepsister to use for AIM and schoolwork. We have cable internet at our house.

I decided I'd take a look at it. I scanned for spyware, installed the latest version of McAfee internet security suite and got all necessary updates for it, and cleaned out some junk that a 15-year-old would never need and that was just taking up space. I also ran Windows Update and got all the necessary OS/IE updates installed. But I decided I'd figure out how to fix the Network Neighborhood thing later, as it wasn't causing any grief. I did all this over the course of two days, and it has worked fine for the two days since I finished.

Until tonight. Tonight, the normal log-in screen where she'd log in under her name and enter her password refuses to pop up. We are unable to access Windows without this screen. Now, suddenly, I need to figure out how to override this program, and since I can't even get to Windows in Safe Mode, I'm gonna need to do it through DOS. Does anyone have any ideas?

Thank you.
__________________

swhawk117 is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 09:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 158
Default

save the trouble, take the hard drive out and put it in another PC and copy the data across. Blow it away and load the OS on again, and this time dont make user profiles as it can be messy. Just have the network login and leave it at that.
__________________

__________________
I\'m not your Google Butler!
dexta182 is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 11:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 195
Default

I agree that you should slave the hard drive and copy over what documents you need (AIM Buddy lists, etc) and reformat.

Because user profiles on Win98 are pretty much useless anyway, it would be nice to start with a clean slate.
__________________
*\'Failure\' is not a four-letter word.
star_topology is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 09:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Townsville, QLD
Posts: 670
Default

I Agree With dexta 182,

Backup the data you wish to keep on A CD or USB or whatever then do a fresh install of 98'

If that fails New HDD might fix the problem

Jake
__________________
Linux Distro chooser

[
jakec is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 09:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to swhawk117 Send a message via Yahoo to swhawk117
Default Problem Fixed

Thank you all for your help. We ended up going one better: my stepsister played the guilt card on her dad and got herself a brand new computer. Now if only that card worked so well with my mom...
swhawk117 is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 02:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Nice. All my dad did was *loan* me some money for my comp!
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 10:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Townsville, QLD
Posts: 670
Default

Jorsoft,

Yeah I was in the same boat, I don't have a checking account so my mum "loaned" me $1100 for my new comp. But I've now payed it off and its:

ALL MINE
__________________
Linux Distro chooser

[
jakec is offline  
Old 06-12-2005, 01:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

I only got $110, paid back a month or so later too. Same guy who picked up the $30 tax on my laptop when I didn't have enough on me
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.