Windows 98 Gold - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-29-2004, 02:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default Windows 98 Gold

can it be upgraded to windows xp professional?
__________________

__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 02:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

nvm, the website answered .that . . .

but what about this . . .

we have an old comp with windows 98 gold, and it has two hard drives, one we keep software, other . . . files . . .

anyways, if we upgrade to xp pro on the hdd that has software . . . we like to reformat and stuff (reinstall the os) . . . will it be okay with the xp pro cd being the upgrade version?
__________________

__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 02:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

oh one more question . . .lol . . .

what if i buy the oem version of xp pro and wipe out the first hdd and install that . . .can i reformat a lot?
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 03:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default

you lost me between the upgrade and reformat
derrmc is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 03:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

well, would i only be able to install once, or multiple times?
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 03:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by koldapu
well, would i only be able to install once, or multiple times?
You have to activate each time you clean install, so get most of your hardware changes first. by the way can the old machine handle xp?
derrmc is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 03:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

oh yeah, 384mb ram, 40gb hdd, 20gb hdd

its a business pc
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 03:29 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by koldapu
oh yeah, 384mb ram, 40gb hdd, 20gb hdd

its a business pc
go for it
derrmc is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 01:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

If there is no current operating system to be found- example: reformatted hdd, you can't install an upgrade copy of windows xp.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 04:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

so i would have to REINSTALL 98, then upgrade again?
__________________

__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.