Windows 98 game on xp, error? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-02-2005, 04:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default Windows 98 game on xp, error?

I'm trying instal a game (red alert 2, don't laugh, I always liked this game) And when I click on instal it comes with this:



Is there a way around this?

Thanks.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 04:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720
Default

Try re-install, I love this game, too. Also, I've ran this on XP Pro and XP Home.
__________________

SkyHi is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 05:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Re instal xp? Wasn't expecting that.

I suppose it can wait, as I don't want to lose anything just yet (got some work that I may need in about a months time when course work is handed back)
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 05:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

You can try this:
delete your install/setup and everything for red alert. Then copy the files off of a P2P program or ur disk again then try it.
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 09:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 148
Default

See if there's an XP patch for it, or try running the game in compatibility mode.
GrayWolf is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 03:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

try to change the compatiblity setting for windows 98. just right-click on the icon for the game, and select the compatiblity tab. NO reintall needed!
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.