windows 98 boot problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-25-2005, 03:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 20
Default windows 98 boot problem

Hi, after fixing my NTLDR missing error im now stuck in DOS mode (i think).. What happens is the windows 98 loading screen flashes then dissapears....

Whats going on and how do i fix it?

Do i need to reinstall windows 98 =[ not a good thing as id like to keep whats on the hd and i dont have the install CD =[

Compnewb is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 03:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
office politics's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics

can you still boot to windows?

office politics is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 03:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya

You shouldn't have an NTLDR file error in Windows 98. What probably happened is the GUI is not set to boot within your MSDOS.SYS file. First, try typing "WIN" without the quotes. If that works, edit your MSDOS.SYS file to include the line BootGUI=1. Then, Windows should boot.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 05:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 20

Your idea that the gui thing isnt working makes sense..

This is a more detailed version what happens and what ive done to fix it so far.(tried doing anyway).

Computer boots up and flashes the Windows 98 load screen for 2 seconds

The computer then returns to dos/command screen and it says
Microsot Windows 98 blah it recognized it

then on the next line it says


i can search directories and it seems like everything is there.

I have tried "exit" and "WIN"...nothing happens.. "exit" doesnt return bad command name but it also doesnt do anything..just skips to next line.


I have tried booting to a boot disk and have done fdisk/mbr aswell as sys c: ..both do nothing.

So you GUI thing seems to make sense since evrything seems to work but it just wont load the winodws defaults to dos.

so how do I (if i even can), edit the msdos.sys file from dos? or can i replace that one by one i can download of the net? or soemthign?

Thx for any further help .
Compnewb is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 05:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 38

Type "edit" (without quotes) at the prompt, that should bring you to the ms-dos editor. From the file menu, navigate to your c: and you should see that file there. Simply open, and make your adjustments.
New Age Outlaw is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.