Windows 7 is failing to start - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2010, 06:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,107
Default Windows 7 is failing to start

Hi all!

Windows suddenly failed to start on my wife's computer. I tried a number of solutions, none of which seemed to work. I decided to reformat the drive and then reinstall Windows 7 again. After the reinstall, I am receiving the same message. I am not sure what to do now.

Can anyone here help me please?

Is it a hardware issue? Shall I try different RAM?

I set the BIOS for factory settings, and still no go.

I have a sneaky suspicion it might be the motherboard, but I am not sure and also I do not know how to run any tests on it.

Can someone help me know where to start please?

Thanks,

Soar
__________________

__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline  
Old 02-23-2010, 06:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: Windows 7 is failing to start

Quote:
Originally Posted by soarwitheagles View Post
Hi all!

Windows suddenly failed to start on my wife's computer. I tried a number of solutions, none of which seemed to work. I decided to reformat the drive and then reinstall Windows 7 again. After the reinstall, I am receiving the same message. I am not sure what to do now.

Can anyone here help me please?

Is it a hardware issue? Shall I try different RAM?

I set the BIOS for factory settings, and still no go.

I have a sneaky suspicion it might be the motherboard, but I am not sure and also I do not know how to run any tests on it.

Can someone help me know where to start please?

Thanks,

Soar
What's the message you're receiving?
__________________

__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Old 02-23-2010, 06:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Windows 7 is failing to start

We need to know the error message and what you've tried for troubleshooting.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 02-23-2010, 07:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lexluethar View Post
We need to know the error message and what you've tried for troubleshooting.
Lex, thank you for asking!

When I attempt to start the computer, Windows says:

Windows failed to start. A recent hardware or software change might be the cause.

1. Please insert your installation disc and start repair

2.Choose language

3.Click repair

Special Note: I already tried the repair with my installation disc and still a no go [I ran Gparted to erase everything from the HD before I did the reinstall...]

Ok, can I provide any other information for you that might be helpful?

Here are the components I used to build this rig:

Intel Q6600 Processor
GA-EP43-DS3L (rev. 1.0)
Crucial Ballistix 800 MHz 2 x 2 = 4GB
Ator Super Charge AP-700SC
WD 320 GB HD [OS is here]
WD 500 GB HD
Maxtor 1000 GB
ASUS 9600 GSO
Thermatake M9 Case
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Lian-Li Bezel Thermometer Gauge
Sunbeam Core-Contact Freezer 120mm CPU Cooler

This rig was working flawlessly for some months. I did install Gigabyte's new version of Easy Tune 6, and immediately afterward I received the Windows not able to start message. I never did use Easy Tune 6...

What shall I do next?

I tried a reinstall, and CMOS clear. That is all I have tried so far...

Soar
__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline  
Old 02-23-2010, 08:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Windows 7 is failing to start

Hey again, your best bet is to remove gigbytes easytune 6 software.
2 years ago when I was using a LGA 775 gigabyte mobo and using a trial of vista I had installed easytune 4.5 from gigabyte.
It was nothing but a total nightmare to get rid of even to this latest software they have currently.
What you need to do is call gigabyte and see if they have any removal tools for that software or find a program that can start to get rid of it including it's registry's.
I recommend you try ccleaner to uninstall it first and use a trial base software of system mechanic 9.
Don't worry about system mechanic though it will do it's job just fine to whatever repairs it suggests and will try to do on it's own.
__________________
-RockMan- is offline  
Old 02-23-2010, 08:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,107
Default Re: Windows 7 is failing to start

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeFuryXP View Post
Hey again, your best bet is to remove gigbytes easytune 6 software.
2 years ago when I was using a LGA 775 gigabyte mobo and using a trial of vista I had installed easytune 4.5 from gigabyte.
It was nothing but a total nightmare to get rid of even to this latest software they have currently.
What you need to do is call gigabyte and see if they have any removal tools for that software or find a program that can start to get rid of it including it's registry's.
I recommend you try ccleaner to uninstall it first and use a trial base software of system mechanic 9.
Don't worry about system mechanic though it will do it's job just fine to whatever repairs it suggests and will try to do on it's own.
Mike,

I already reformatted and reinstalled Windows 7 and I am still receiving the same message: "Windows cannot start..."

I also cleared the CMOS just in case the Easy Tune 6 messed anything up there....

I think all the registry values go back to normal on a reinstall?

What else could be the problem?

Soar
__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline  
Old 02-23-2010, 08:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 370
Default Re: Windows 7 is failing to start

If everything works perfectly fine right up until you do XYZ, then isn't it logical to think that XYZ is the cause of the problem?
__________________
DoubleHelix is offline  
Old 02-23-2010, 08:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: Windows 7 is failing to start

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoubleHelix View Post
If everything works perfectly fine right up until you do XYZ, then isn't it logical to think that XYZ is the cause of the problem?
Well he did stated that the "XYZ" was installing the Easy Tune, and he also stated he reformatted and reinstalled which would normally eliminate the problem of hardware changes as it supposed to read as a clean install.
__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Old 02-23-2010, 08:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Windows 7 is failing to start

Ok try this and lets see what windows 7 is saying:

go to start, type in error in the space bar box, it will bring up a list.
Click on view history and reliability and take a screen shot and post here so that we can really see whats going on.
That way we can have a better understanding of where the problem is originating from.
__________________
-RockMan- is offline  
Old 02-23-2010, 08:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: Windows 7 is failing to start

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeFuryXP View Post
Ok try this and lets see what windows 7 is saying:

go to start, type in error in the space bar box, it will bring up a list.
Click on view history and reliability and take a screen shot and post here so that we can really see whats going on.
That way we can have a better understanding of where the problem is originating from.
Don't think he can boot to Windows in order to follow the steps you gave as in the first post he stated "Windows suddenly failed to start on my wife's computer". What he can do however is try to boot in safe mode and follow your steps, if he could reach that far though.
__________________

__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Start up error - File:\Boot\BCD status 0xc000000f mikhaile76 Microsoft Windows and Software 38 02-04-2010 08:18 AM
30+ Windows 7 Features Phone Home to Microsoft KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 1 12-12-2009 09:36 PM
Change The Default Windows Explorer Start Page Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 11-17-2009 07:25 AM
Windows 7 upgrade problem Druid Microsoft Windows and Software 4 11-08-2009 10:46 AM
bloody keyloggers oldstoat HijackThis Logs (finished) 10 10-22-2008 01:12 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.