Windows 7 on Domain Network - Logging in as local user without the computer name?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jayce

Fully Optimized
I often have to log in to the local administrator account on our machines here at work. We also have a ton of computers, so for me to happen to know the computer name is quite a pain. What's also quite a pain is having to type in the computer name\administrator to log in as the local administrator account. Is there any way to bypass so I can log in like, do I dare say, the way XP does it?

AFAIK, there is no way to do it like XP does. Have you tried asking on the TechNET Site? These people make my knowledge of Windows look like i am a beginner.

Have you tried to just type administrator and its password? all the win 7 pcs i have all will logon to the local admin account unless you specify the domain. Unless you have some GPO setting that changes that it is default. It should show you below the username what you are logging into as your typing.

Have you tried to just type administrator and its password? all the win 7 pcs i have all will logon to the local admin account unless you specify the domain. Unless you have some GPO setting that changes that it is default. It should show you below the username what you are logging into as your typing.

I did try that, and it didn't fly because it didn't know where I was trying to log into. It's quite honestly an absolute pain in the ***, because I have no clue what the computer name is of the system I'm working on.

These people make my knowledge of Windows look like i am a beginner.

Clearly this is sarcasm. :p

Actually it isnt sarcasm Jayce. The people on the TechNET forums have much more knowledge and more geared toward what your looking for.

Actually it isnt sarcasm Jayce. The people on the TechNET forums have much more knowledge and more geared toward what your looking for.