Windows 64 Bit Edition - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-20-2005, 09:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 81
Send a message via ICQ to yakir_sudry
Default Windows 64 Bit Edition

I have A 64 bit CPU (the computer in my signature)
I thought about installing windows 64 bit edition.
I've heard that it's good and that I ony have to make sure before I'm doing it that I can get A 64 bit drivers for all my hardware.
is it true?
will windows 64 bit effect my computer a lot or I barely gone a see that?
what are the advantages of it?
do you recommend?
__________________

__________________
IT Essentials 1-2
A+
CCNA


CPU - Athlon 64 3000+ (S-939) VENICE CORE
Mother Board- K8NF-9 (NF4, s939, PCI-E)
Video- Gigabyte 6600GT 256 MB
DVD Burner- NEC 3540A DVD±RW x16 Dual x8
HD- 80GB (8MB) SATA DiamondMax Plus 9
Memory 512Mb 400MHz Kingston CL3 *2 (1 GB)
Screen- 17'' LCD proview 8 ms 1:700
yakir_sudry is offline  
Old 10-20-2005, 11:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 81
Send a message via ICQ to yakir_sudry
Default

bump
__________________

__________________
IT Essentials 1-2
A+
CCNA


CPU - Athlon 64 3000+ (S-939) VENICE CORE
Mother Board- K8NF-9 (NF4, s939, PCI-E)
Video- Gigabyte 6600GT 256 MB
DVD Burner- NEC 3540A DVD±RW x16 Dual x8
HD- 80GB (8MB) SATA DiamondMax Plus 9
Memory 512Mb 400MHz Kingston CL3 *2 (1 GB)
Screen- 17'' LCD proview 8 ms 1:700
yakir_sudry is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 10:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

i've only had problems with my drivers.
motherboard (onboad nic), graphics (both 77 & 78) and mouse (no driver at all)

other than that....*shrugs* it was windows.....
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 12:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 81
Send a message via ICQ to yakir_sudry
Default

so...
was the windows 64 bit worth the trouble of getting the drivers?
__________________
IT Essentials 1-2
A+
CCNA


CPU - Athlon 64 3000+ (S-939) VENICE CORE
Mother Board- K8NF-9 (NF4, s939, PCI-E)
Video- Gigabyte 6600GT 256 MB
DVD Burner- NEC 3540A DVD±RW x16 Dual x8
HD- 80GB (8MB) SATA DiamondMax Plus 9
Memory 512Mb 400MHz Kingston CL3 *2 (1 GB)
Screen- 17'' LCD proview 8 ms 1:700
yakir_sudry is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 06:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

I put it on my dad's machine. After an hour, I was so frustrated that I couldn't find any drivers to work with it that I went back to XP 32.

But your case may be different. Look into if you can get 64 bit drivers for your hardware.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 11:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 148
Default

I have seen a ton of posts about this, and it the same answer each time, Wait. Not all hardware manufactures are going to support XP64 at least not right now, so yes there is a good chance that you won't be able to use some of your hardware. Why would you need to install the 64bit version of windows is the next question you need to ask. Basically it's no different from 32bit with the exception that it DOES NOT include the 16bit sub system, meaning anything written for Win 3.1 will NOT RUN this includes setup programs that are written in 16bit that install 32bit applications. Also by installing XP64 you give up your license for the 32bit version.

Wait for Vista.

-GrayWolf
GrayWolf is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 01:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Default to upgrade or not...software support

I'm in the process of upgrading my mobo and cpu. I just purchased an AMD socket 754 mobo and AMD Athlon 64 2800+ newcastle, nothing too cutting edge. I'm not a huge gamer and don't need a gaming build (using ATI radeon 9500 128MB). I'm considering upgrading to Windows 64 mainly because I need to buy a new OS soon and figured as long as i'm buying I might as well upgrade to Win 64 (same price as XP pro on newegg). Most of the hardware and software i use are supported according to this site:
http://www.3dvelocity.com/articles/w...64softlist.htm

Should I upgrade to 64 in anticipation of future hardware/software win64 support? Or just get win xp pro, avoiding any potential future headache with Windows 64? GrayWolf mentioned waiting for Vista instead of going with Windows 64. How long a wait will that be and will I miss anything important by passing on Windows 64?
lazarus777 is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 01:08 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,178
Default

Linux would be ideal...

Or try to stick it out for another year (lol), if you must stick with windows, for Vista.

I doubt there will be any decent advantages to the 64 bit CPU any time soon, but...do what feels right!
__________________
Vormund is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 05:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Xula
Linux would be ideal...

Or try to stick it out for another year (lol), if you must stick with windows, for Vista.

I doubt there will be any decent advantages to the 64 bit CPU any time soon, but...do what feels right!
linux own the 64 bit market. they have been taking advantage of the technology for 2-3 years.

windows will catch up someday
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 06:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

64 bit is great and I recommend it to anyone who wants performance even though most programs cannot take advantage of the multi threading yet. But before you make the switch make sure your hardware have 64 bit drivers that work.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.