Windows 64 bit - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-29-2005, 01:29 AM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487

For me I just installed the 64 bit ethernet driver and then hooked it up to my router. I don't even remember how you hook up to 56k to be honest. I'm such a noob on dial-up, but then again maybe that's a good thing.

In fact I'm not sure I even know what a phone jack looks like anymore. It's smaller than an ethernet plug right?
I use broadband VoIP phone as well so I never use regular phone lines anymore.

<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 04:28 PM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to SHOCK3R WOLF
Default Re: Windows 64 bit

Originally posted by dale5605
Just wanted to say that I got windows 64 bit up and running on my AMD system with no problems at all and it's my primary OS. I don't have windows 32 bit on another partition or anything.
Anyone else running 64 bit?

It works so well. I got the beta ATI drivers, beta sound blaster drivers for my sound card, and everything is working flawlessly. I also installed all of the beta Nforce4 chipset drivers.

The OS seems pretty sweet, can't wait for the final release.
seems sweet?, what are you talking about. Please tell me what differences did you see, because when i had it it seem exactly the same thing to me, and i'm 20/20. The UI looks exactly the same, i was expecting to get 64-bit color quality or something, but its the same 32-bit quality. and can someone explain me the difference between IE 32, and IE 64. dale5605, i'm not trying to be sarcastic, but if you really saw big differences please tell me how, because for me didn't worked out!

SHOCK3R WOLF is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 04:30 PM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to SHOCK3R WOLF

and another of the reasons why i took it out, was because my uGuru console wouln't work. BTW, will Doom 3 work under 64bit OS? would i have to get an update?

SHOCK3R WOLF is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:55 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.