windows 3.1 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-04-2003, 12:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default windows 3.1

i know..i know...its old..its crapy, but this was my very first OS...when I was literally a "virgin techie".

anyway,..my very first pc is an IBM 486 sx sumthin... i know...its crapy too.. but would you guys believe that its still working....yup..i even defragged the 212mb western dig 3 days ago. Windows 3.1 is installed in this pc...and i'd like to do a clean install...

does anybody know where i can get this old windows OS?
__________________

devlish96 is offline  
Old 07-04-2003, 05:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

LOL!!! yeah, i know...i was still i kid when i got it.

actually,.. i already saw some sites where you can download windows 3.11 upgrade...i think i'll just do an upgrade or sumthing...LOL!

i think this 3.1 is history! perhaps they have it computer museums or something ... oh well..

thanks anyway!
__________________

devlish96 is offline  
Old 07-04-2003, 06:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

really..windows 95? how bout HD space? won't 95 require more than 212mb?

if it ran in your 486 ..it'll probably run with mine,...we have the same amt of ram,....i just don't know if the HD can accommodate 95.
devlish96 is offline  
Old 07-04-2003, 11:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Veteran Techist Member
 
Slam'n Systems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 828
Default

y dont you get like a 500mb hard drive or something? lol..youd prolly have to find THAT junk on eBay! lol
__________________
3DMark FireStrike Ultra: 4,266
3DMark FireStrike: 12,043

  • Intel Core i7 920 Overclocked 3.2Ghz - Megahalem Cooler
  • eVGA E758-A1 X58 Intel LGA 1366 Motherboard
  • Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM
  • MSI Armor OC 8GB GeForceģ GTX 1070
  • eVGA 650W G2 Modular Power Supply
  • Thermaltake Armor+ Full Tower Case
  • Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
  • Corsair Force LE 250GB SSD
  • OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD
Slam'n Systems is offline  
Old 07-05-2003, 03:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

LOL! i know.....but I think I know where I can get the 3.1...yup,P2P. found it in shareaza

anyway,..just keepin my options open. thanks!
devlish96 is offline  
Old 07-10-2003, 03:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to appledj2
Default

lol i trash harddrives less than 2gigs.... I have the 6 disk set of win 3.1 for sale if your interested.
appledj2 is offline  
Old 07-10-2003, 03:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

yeah, i know! thanks anyway, buddy...got the disks right here.
devlish96 is offline  
Old 07-10-2003, 06:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

There used to be a site with all the old goodies - including WinNT 3.x, Win3.x all the way back to Win 1.0 beta, as well as MS-DOS and OS/2, but alas, it no longer stands. Seeing as you found it though, you may still be interested.

It was nice to use VMWare/Virtual PC with them too.

My copy of WFW 3.11 originally came on a CD... and I bought a 2x CD-ROM drive with it... dunno if I even have it anymore LOL.
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 07-10-2003, 06:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

LOL!...we were supposed to buy a 4x cd-rom for my 486. During that time,4x was the fastest cdrom around(..thats what i thought,...i was just a kid,..how am i supposed to know whats hot and whats not?).

man, those were the days..
devlish96 is offline  
Old 07-10-2003, 10:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

well it would be better to get a CD ROM with a speed that can go with your hard drive, for example a 52x Drive matches the hard drive speed of 7200 rpm
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.