Windows 2003 server r2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-13-2007, 06:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Default Windows 2003 server r2

I'm trying to add this computer to my existing network and I cant seem to find it on my network but the computer can get on the internet. Please help.
__________________

dontknowanything is offline  
Old 09-13-2007, 06:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Windows 2003 server r2

Is it a domain network or peer to peer?
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 09-13-2007, 06:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: Windows 2003 server r2

Quote:
Originally Posted by hefemeister View Post
Is it a domain network or peer to peer?
how do i find out if its on domain? keep in mind im not that great, i just know very little. let me tell what im trying to do. I have a existing server where we put our files in and we just bought a new pc with win2003 server r2. im trying to make this new pc exist on my network so i can start transferring our files. please please help.
dontknowanything is offline  
Old 09-13-2007, 06:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Windows 2003 server r2

go to another computer. right mouse click my computer. go to properties. click on the netword id tab and see if you are in a workgroup or domain.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 09-13-2007, 07:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: Windows 2003 server r2

Quote:
Originally Posted by hefemeister View Post
go to another computer. right mouse click my computer. go to properties. click on the netword id tab and see if you are in a workgroup or domain.

so are you saying that i just need to put the server on the domain? and when i did that it says that i need to demote this pc because its a domain controller. im lost.
dontknowanything is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows server 2003 user script/batch slayerduck Microsoft Windows and Software 2 06-03-2007 11:16 AM
Outlook 2000 problems in Windows Server 2003 pcschris Microsoft Windows and Software 1 05-24-2007 05:36 PM
Windows Server Codenamed Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 04-26-2007 10:44 AM
Windows Home Server SDK Available Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 04-05-2007 11:21 PM
Windows 2003 configure as a mail server , how many email accounts can handle zillah Microsoft Windows and Software 1 03-28-2007 01:11 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.