windows 2003 enterprise - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2003, 12:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1
Default windows 2003 enterprise

hey everyone im new,
i would like to start a thread on win2k3, i am running the eval and its GREAT

anybody other there runnin it?
currently i have a ftp setup, IIS w/passwords, and terminal services with remotedesktop for trouble shooting from school

anyway what do all you 2k3'rs think!
__________________

bigbalze is offline  
Old 06-01-2003, 04:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 34
Default

well, I have heard of this, but never got too into it. Can you give us a few screen shots of what it looks like?
__________________

Geniusdude is offline  
Old 06-01-2003, 04:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 287
Send a message via AIM to neb1211 Send a message via Yahoo to neb1211
Default

I've ran it before on one of my computers but it didn't like my soundcard so i reinstalled xp. If it wasn't for that i would have loved to keep it on my computer cuz i have a fully legal copy of it(gotta love those connections).
__________________
~ Nick
Owner of Maximum CPU and MaxCPU Hosting
neb1211 is offline  
Old 06-01-2003, 07:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Veteran Techist Member
 
Slam'n Systems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 828
Default

I am running Windows Server 2003 Enterprise edition right now and Im going back to windows XP! I don't use the server to its full potential so i dont really care for it! Anyways, it looks like Win2000 with XP Icons! LOL(Except the start button is a lil better looking with new look logo)
__________________
3DMark FireStrike Ultra: 4,266
3DMark FireStrike: 12,043

  • Intel Core i7 920 Overclocked 3.2Ghz - Megahalem Cooler
  • eVGA E758-A1 X58 Intel LGA 1366 Motherboard
  • Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM
  • MSI Armor OC 8GB GeForceģ GTX 1070
  • eVGA 650W G2 Modular Power Supply
  • Thermaltake Armor+ Full Tower Case
  • Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
  • Corsair Force LE 250GB SSD
  • OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD
Slam'n Systems is offline  
Old 06-02-2003, 02:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 200
Default

screenshots please?
imation is offline  
Old 06-02-2003, 12:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 287
Send a message via AIM to neb1211 Send a message via Yahoo to neb1211
Default

do a search on google for windows server 2003 screen shots.
__________________
~ Nick
Owner of Maximum CPU and MaxCPU Hosting
neb1211 is offline  
Old 06-02-2003, 03:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1
Default

A friend of mine has an eval copy of this. I am on the verge of being convinced I need a server at home - 2 Wintel machines, a Wintel laptop, several Macs, cable modem, router, ethernet hubs, etc. Can someone help me find info on how to use a home server. I've searched over with google and can't come up with anything that tells me how to use a server. Lots of sites on how to select server hardware, how to set up a webserver, how to install the OS, but nothing that demonstrates or points out the benefits and actually how to do it. I apologize if this is in the wrong forum. Any help would be greatly appreciated...
moosha is offline  
Old 06-13-2003, 12:40 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to mindfrost82
Default

It kinda depends on what you want to use the server for? Do you want to use as a proxy server so that all other computer have to go through it to access the net? Do you want to use it as a router so that the other computers on the network get it's IP from the server (NAT)? You could create a local intranet site (not really much need for it on a home network). You could setup a server so that all other computers on your local domain actually log into an account that's verified on the server and have their profiles saved on the server.

There's lots of different things you could use it for, and there's different ways to set everything up depending on your needs & what OS you use for your server.

I'm using Windows Server 2003 on 2 computers right now, I have it as my server and I also have it as a "workstation" on my laptop. I find it much more stable & secure than any previous version of Windows...including XP. You can get W2k3 to look just like XP if you enable Themes.
mindfrost82 is offline  
Old 06-17-2003, 01:30 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 153
Default

Win2k3 is great. I have an eval and figured out how to make it work like a desktop OS. Very fast and stable. I think Microsoft learned a few things from Linux conventions last year when they sent people there. Most non-required features are turned off for better security especially IIS. I love it but no need for a server yet. If I do, I might use Win2k Server or Red Hat.
__________________

__________________
COMPtia A+
COMPtia Network+
Quantum is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.