windows 2000 server services - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-21-2006, 05:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default windows 2000 server services

Is there a way to tell a service to start at bootup no matter wat? I have a service that won't start automatically and i need it to. VMware Server 1.0.1's service: vmware-serverd won't start automatically, but it must start in order for vmware server to run properly. Otherwise every time i reboot the server i need to remote control it to start the service manually.

Thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 09:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

What if you place the executable that the service is launching in the startup items?All its launching is a .exe file.
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 10:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

Thats what i thought it was, just an exe. I thought i had tried running the prog manually..but won't i have to login anyway then? anyway, last time i tried launching the exe it didn't work, i'll try it again tho.

thanks for the reply.
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 10:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

You cant launch the exe directly it wont work..it has to be from a dos based env not windows..what if you whiped up a batch file with the proper switches of the EXE you are trying to launch?

i.e.
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 10:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,178
Default

Code:
Start->Settings->Control Panel

Administrative Tools->Computer Management

Services And Applications->Services

Right click the service->Properties->Startup->Automatic
That is what is not working? Mmm, not sure. Could make a batch file... with:
net start <service name>
And put that in the startup folder? Mmm, just a guess!
__________________
Vormund is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 09:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

yes, that's correct, when i go into services and set it to auto, it won't start automatically.

I have a batch file ready. BUT, if i put it in the all users start up folder, won't someone still have to login for it to run?
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 05:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

I was thinking of a GPO to avoid the need to logon..or is this not an active directory env?
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 05:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

it is an AD environment but not othis server...i suppose i could join it

i'll try that tonight, thanks.
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 08:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Did you test it first though? Pointless to make a policy if it doesnt work..you avoid many layers of troubleshooting this way.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 09:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

Wat's there to test besides the batch? all i have to do is make sure the batch works, join the server to the domain and add the batch file as a startup script to the computer policy and push that to the ou right? or am i missing some steps?
__________________

__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.