Windows 2000 profesional problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-09-2006, 09:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 29
Default Windows 2000 profesional problem

Well my problem is that I have accidentally activated the security password for when you restart the computer. So I am locked out of my computer. Is there any way I can override the password ? I can't even login as Guest. I can't believe I did something this stupid. I am stumped as to what the password is. Are there any Usernames and Passwords that will overide this problem ? I am open to any suggestions.
__________________

Skely is offline  
Old 05-09-2006, 09:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

I was always wondering how to set up a situation where you need to enter a password when the windows boot logo apears I've seen it done before I just never did it myself.


How did you do it .
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 05-09-2006, 10:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=61575
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 08:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 29
Default

It's easy all you have to do is go to your controle panel and select users and passwords or something like that then turn on the password box as I did. Just make sure you know what your password is befor you do it...
Skely is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 08:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

did that work above?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 04:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 29
Default

I have yet to try booting up my computer in Service Restor Mode option in Method two. That sounds like it might work though assuming it lets me get passed the login name and password.
Skely is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 10:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 29
Default

Nope I have yet to figure out how to even get the computer to let me past the user name and password. I have the user name but no password. And the Guest login has been disabled along with the other username that I had.
Skely is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 09:49 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 158
Default

do u log under administrator or another name?
__________________
I\'m not your Google Butler!
dexta182 is offline  
Old 05-14-2006, 06:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Here I thought you were able to get a startup password that aprears with the windows logo on boot but it's just a login problem...
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 05-14-2006, 07:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

hit f8 and boot into safe mode as administrator. go to control panel and remove the password for the regular account
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.