Windows 2000 installation - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-17-2006, 08:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Default Windows 2000 installation

I have a pretty old laptop that I was thinking about upgrading from Windows 98 to Windows 2000. I can't get the Windows 2000 intallation disk to start up.
__________________

leo55 is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 08:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

how are you trying to do this?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 08:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Well I tried 2 ways
1.Just let the disk run and when 98 starts up it will hopefully go to installation.
2. I check the drive and tried to make it run from there but it really does not work that way.
leo55 is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 08:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

you tried to make it boot from the cd in the bios?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 08:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Default

You mean drive?
leo55 is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 08:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

no, i mean the bios....
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 08:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Default

bios?
leo55 is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 08:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

when you reboot, hit the delete key and see what comes up or F8, F12,. When you are in 98, you have the 2000 cd in the drive, cant you explore the cd and run the exe?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 09:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Default

k thanks man
leo55 is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 09:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

id try the cd option first, that would be quickest for you
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.