Windows 2000 Advanced Server Install Error... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-06-2005, 01:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 85
Send a message via AIM to qbbraveheart
Default Windows 2000 Advanced Server Install Error...

hello all its my 1st post here...

having a problem installing win2k adv server on my home network
im installing it on a removable hard drive.
basically it goes through setup(blue screen) and while on the blue screen at the bottom it says setup is starting windows 2000(after it copies the files) then the screen blinks once or twice and I get a blue screen error message.
usually its something with NTDLL.dll ???
I dont know whats going on either lol
and it also says make sure my hardware is compatible yada yada yada.

maybe my cd is corrupt?

I dont know

can anyone help me out?

TIA
__________________

qbbraveheart is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 03:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I'm not sure you can do that in a removable harddrive, external Im taking it?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 03:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 14
Default

Never tried to install an operating system onto an external hard drive.

Are you using a legitimate copy of Windows 2000 Advanced Server? Why would you require that on your home network?
905it is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 03:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

whats wrong with having a server on your home network?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 04:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 319
Default

IS IT USB ?

It will not work and here is why
it is built into the HAL not to work. Everytime you plug something into the usb port, usb reinitializes
ok ?
so lets say you were successfull in installing win 2003 and win 2003 is happy chugging along and it decides to do an inpage operation and a fraction of a second latter you plug in your usb camera to see the new picture of your girl friend....usb initalizes and win2003 looses contact with it's whole page file...not good, and if done on purpose could compromise win 2003, especially if you replaced the page file with a hacked one or win just BSODs everytime and ram is corrupted and all in ram is lost ..not good either
tractorboy is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 04:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 85
Send a message via AIM to qbbraveheart
Default

its not usb its a bay w/ removeable hd

I had Unix/Linux, Win98/2000Pro on it before but Im having problems w/ Win2k server

Im putting the server on my home network so I can study/practice for my certs
__________________
some old out dated P.O.S.
qbbraveheart is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 06:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 905it
Never tried to install an operating system onto an external hard drive.

Are you using a legitimate copy of Windows 2000 Advanced Server? Why would you require that on your home network?
Is there anything wrong with having a server on your home Network I'm using Server 2003 myself and will be upgrading to Longhorn Server the day it reaches a final build.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 12:20 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 319
Default

It should work....IDE ,,,,,right ?

is this a burnt copy ?
is it one of those 6 in 1 warez cd's ?
is it a lagit OEM MS CD ?
Did you clean the bottom of the cd , no finger prints, jelly ? especially burnt copies.

is the removable the primary drive ?
tractorboy is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 09:46 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 85
Send a message via AIM to qbbraveheart
Default

its a burnt copy of the real thing

i set the removable to be the primary when I have to boot to it...otherwise, when not in use the drive is not in the bay
qbbraveheart is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 09:59 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 319
Default

I have found that burnt copies have to be completely clean on the bottom , not even finger prints. What I would do is trick it take the hd out of the caddy and connect up as primary install 2003 then put it back in the caddy, this will also tell you if it is the cd or not. Also once you get win 2003 installed there is this really anoying screen when ever you shut down, asks why you are shutting down...etc. It sends this to a log the admin can review, I turned this off on mine. I ran the MMC console and found where to turn that off and revert back to just a regular windows prompt. I will try to remember where , just let me know.
__________________

tractorboy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.