windows 2000 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2006, 08:05 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 849
Send a message via Yahoo to ZeroX
Default

pick up another 512 stick. i bet you could find one for around $30 that would be plenty of ram for xp.
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=0&amp;t=62\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Firefox!\" title=\"Get Firefox!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/110x32/take.gif\"/></a>
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=0&amp;t=181\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Thunderbird!\" title=\"Get Thunderbird!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/thunderbird/thunderbird_small.png\"/></a>
<a href=\"http://my.opera.com/USERNAME/affiliate/\" title=\"Download Opera\" ><img src=\"http://promote.opera.com/small/opera88x31.png\" width=\"88\" height=\"31\" alt=\"Download Opera\" /></a>
ZeroX is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 12:34 AM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

the cheapest RAM stick i can find is $80.

a 256 MB RAM stick is $40.

believe it or not, best buy charges $120 for a 512 mb ram stick
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 01:24 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

If you have XP setup correctly and tweaked to get rid of all the spam filling, and you run a decent machine, XP will run circles around 2000.

On top of the fact that 2000 is no longer supported by Microsoft.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 01:26 PM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

windows 2000 isnt supported anymore?

isnt microsoft still supporting win98 though?


my main concern is if windows 2000 supports wireless connections, because the software with my linksys is sh**
talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 03:07 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Search BT Junkie (BitTorrent) for "XP Lite SP2".

There's a downloadable ISO of Windows XP that's been modified for old computers. With a fresh install, resources are only at like 40MB. However, basically every un-vital service has been removed, and it comes with basically NO additional programs. You'd better have all your drivers on a disk too, 'cause most of the drivers have been removed as well. Full install comes out to about 200MB.

However, it's probably illegal, if you're not into that kinda' thing...
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 05:00 PM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

well i could buy it from litepc.com *wink*
talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 05:12 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

I hope someone will make a lite version of windows vista when it comes out.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 05:17 PM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

it wont take long...its crazy how bored some people get!
talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-03-2006, 01:14 AM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 849
Send a message via Yahoo to ZeroX
Default

http://www.memorytek.com/product_inf...roducts_id=404

$35 512mb pc1600

i doubt that is the type of memory you need, but i searched that in 10 seconds.

pricewatch.com
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=0&amp;t=62\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Firefox!\" title=\"Get Firefox!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/110x32/take.gif\"/></a>
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=0&amp;t=181\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Thunderbird!\" title=\"Get Thunderbird!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/thunderbird/thunderbird_small.png\"/></a>
<a href=\"http://my.opera.com/USERNAME/affiliate/\" title=\"Download Opera\" ><img src=\"http://promote.opera.com/small/opera88x31.png\" width=\"88\" height=\"31\" alt=\"Download Opera\" /></a>
ZeroX is offline  
Old 02-03-2006, 10:27 AM   #20 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

thanks zerox, but i am in canada, and my memory is PC3200.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.