windows 2000 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-19-2005, 08:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 26
Send a message via Yahoo to ghensenyuy
Default windows 2000

I used a windows 98 startup disk to boot my pc that was running windows 2000 since the Hard drive was failing. But when i arrived at the command prompt, i could not see drive C.

ghensenyuy is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 09:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN

Hense why your HDD is failing...

A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 09:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Elbatrop1's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057

hahaha, what do you expect us to do?

See if your HD is getting detected in BIOS. If the jumper is set correctly on it and it isnt being detected, then it's probably toast.

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 02:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to evelmunkey

is the HD formatted NTSF?
evelmunkey is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 03:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him

you start using a bootdisk it kicks everything up a letter, due to the RAMDrive. Can you see it when you type 'D:'?
Him is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 07:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan

It's most likely because your hard drive is NTFS, dos unless you have special software built in cannot read NTFS, only FAT, that's probably your problem.

AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.