Windows 10 password - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2016, 11:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
mwwwilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 119
Default Windows 10 password

I'm stuck here. Please tell me that I do not have to re-install everything for this laptop. Here is my story:

I was attempting to sell an old laptop. So I installed a new hdd, installed the software bundles that came with the laptop, and upgraded to Win10 through the free microsoft deal.

When I setup the windows account, I wanted to keep it a general login and password. I also made an admin account. Well, now my sister is going to take this laptop off my hands and guess what...

I CAN'T REMEMBER THE PASSWORD!!! for the general user account. Also, I cannot seem to find where I can sign in as ADMIN.

When I start the laptop it comes up asking for password or pin... the password and pin that I remember using do not work. I say that I can't remember them but I really do, in general. I always keep to certain login names and passwords... same with pins.

How can I get into this laptop. I believe once I get into windows that I can figure out what is going on. Change the password or whatever. But for now, I am stuck and cannot login.

I can always wipe the hdd and re-install the bundled software that came with it. I am just trying not to because it takes a long time to install. I have this laptop setup perfectly the way that I want and now this.

Suggestions? Oh and I know that I can get a password reset from microsoft by providing my phone # and/or email address. But I do not remember what email that I used. Plus the phone number I used was my mom's and she doesn't have that phone anymore. LOL

Hope somebody can help.
__________________

mwwwilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 08:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,446
Default Re: Windows 10 password

Disable any internet devices on it and keep it disconnected from the internet. Then use something like NT Offline Password Editor and clear the password for the account. Then log into the account, and reset it (or setup a new user account).

Then you can re-connect to the internet with the laptop.

Haven't tried it myself, but early on when Win8 released and using an MS account, that was supposedly a way to get it to work.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 07:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
mwwwilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 119
Default Re: Windows 10 password

Will this utility work for Windows 10 tho???
mwwwilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 08:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,446
Default Re: Windows 10 password

Well it's using the same mechanism as Win8...so might as well try it.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2016, 07:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
Night Ninja
 
MidnightShadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 776
Default Re: Windows 10 password

It should work as long as it's a local account and not a Microsoft account.
__________________
MidnightShadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2016, 08:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,446
Default Re: Windows 10 password

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightShadow View Post
It should work as long as it's a local account and not a Microsoft account.
OP stated it is a MS account - however the way MS accounts on a PC work is similar to how domain accounts work. The credentials are cached, so if the PC is offline you can still login. That's why disconnecting/disabling internet devices on the system is important so that it can't re-connect after clearing the cached password.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 11:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Prestige3.5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Jerusalem
Posts: 2
Thumbs up Re: Windows 10 password

Just replace that thing with command prompt.exe at boot, and bang bang bang. And then type cmd and then bang bang.

Prestige 3.5. Untouchable, worldwide.
Prestige3.5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 02:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Night Ninja
 
MidnightShadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 776
Default Re: Windows 10 password

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
OP stated it is a MS account - however the way MS accounts on a PC work is similar to how domain accounts work. The credentials are cached, so if the PC is offline you can still login. That's why disconnecting/disabling internet devices on the system is important so that it can't re-connect after clearing the cached password.
If it's a Microsoft Account, it's going to want the last known password. I didn't think there was a way to clear it off of the local machine and, even if there was, you would still ultimately need to reset the MS account password, so why not go that route with it?
__________________
MidnightShadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 03:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,446
Default Re: Windows 10 password

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightShadow View Post
If it's a Microsoft Account, it's going to want the last known password. I didn't think there was a way to clear it off of the local machine and, even if there was, you would still ultimately need to reset the MS account password, so why not go that route with it?
And the 'last known password' is cached on the machine. If you have an MS account on your system...disconnect it from the internet. Then go change your MS account password. Before reconnecting your system to the internet, try typing in your new password - but how will it know what the new password is if it's offline . You're clearing that cached password, and thus possibly able to get in with the old (or blanked) password.

Yes, if you forgot your MS account password, you'll probably end up resetting it anyway..but OP made it sound like this was a temporary account / login anyway, so why go through the trouble of resetting it when the system is just going to have another main account put on it anyway?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2016, 06:42 AM   #10 (permalink)
Night Ninja
 
MidnightShadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 776
Default Re: Windows 10 password

No, I get it. I do. I just didn't realize there was a way to clear the cached password off of the system. I guess it's just never something I considered doing... lol.
__________________

__________________
MidnightShadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Password Fail For Chrome Reports Websites With Bad Password Policies Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 03-13-2010 08:19 AM
HDD password protected how to disable password Mari802 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 02-15-2010 07:42 PM
Screensaver password different than User password mvietori Microsoft Windows and Software 4 08-19-2008 12:38 PM
No Password securer than weak password ? Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 03-06-2008 07:02 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.