WinDgb symbols issues

Status
Not open for further replies.

jfenwick

Fully Optimized
Ok, so have been getting BSOD recently, I though I'd had the problem beat on a couple of occasions but the BSOD eventually returns:

- RAM: with 2GB in I get errors with memtest...downgrade to 1GB and both sticks pass memtest in any slot.
- HDD: tried swapping out new one to no effect
- Re-installed all my drivers.
- reformatted and re-installed everything

At this point I still think it's either a GPU driver problem or RAM problem. Is it possible to get errors on both sticks of RAM when running dual slots but have both pass on their own as single 1GB sticks? (2GB Crucial Ballistix, about 4 months old)

I decided to try WinDbg, seemed to be the next thing to do but have been having problems getting it to work. What do I put in the Symbol Search Path? This is my first time with the program and its not going well.

I've looked around and tried a few things but nothing seems to work, I get the following message when I load the dump report:

"Your debugger is not using the correct symbols ...."

This comes up a couple of times.

Only other interesting thing happening is on a couple of occasions its actually un-installed my GPU drivers for me on the re-boot. I'm using an XFX 9800gtx+ with the folding 178.08 display drivers. Same results when i uninstall F@H and go with most updated XFX drivers from their website.

System: e2180, gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L, xfx 9800gtx+, 2GB crucial ballistix, 500GB seagate HDD, razer AC-1 Sound card. corsair 650vx psu. Windows XP 32 bit SP3

Thanks

Download Windows Symbol Packages

You have to go there and get the symbols packs and install them as well. WinDBG doesnt work without them. You can install them just about anywhere you want. But you will have to open WinDBG and select file>sybol and give it the path where you isntalled the symbols to.