win98 se dns problem.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-09-2004, 12:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 84
Default win98 se dns problem....

Running win98se.
Had to uninstall and reinstall TCP/IP and NetBeui etc then managed to get onto newtwork(single domain). I can print etc across the network even.
Now I can't access websites...can't ping any www.something.com and can't ping ip's either...even on the network.
I can see everything and browse network neighbourhood but get dns error pages in the browser.

We assign ip's manually and I have set the DNS search order to be the same as every other win98 client here ie to the router first then teh suffix order using our isp dns servers.

However when reinstalling tcp etc i had to use a win98 cd as someone has nicked the win98se cd we had. Does this sound like it could be a problem with that?
??
__________________

__________________
...cos we\'re travelling...at the speed of thought...UltraMagnetics
muradtalukdar is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 04:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

can you ping the DNS server? What other protocols do you have installed? Seems like there is a communications error between your machine and the DNS server.
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 11:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 100
Send a message via ICQ to LeafLeaves Send a message via AIM to LeafLeaves
Default

dont add so protocols,for link up internet ,to add tcp/ip protocol is enough.add the Netbeui protocol is not necessary.moreover,it add the trouble to search for the reason for the error and problems.
__________________
Rome wasn\'t built in a day!
LeafLeaves is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 11:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 100
Send a message via ICQ to LeafLeaves Send a message via AIM to LeafLeaves
Default

one suggestion.dont use the network neighbourhood to browse other machine. the network neighbourhood for win98 ,there is some thing wrong.if you want to browse other machine,you can use the Computer Finger to search for the other computer name.or search for it's ip address.i have used the win98 operation system for few years.There is so kind of problem about win98.i make sure it .Believe me.search for the ip address is really ok.
__________________
Rome wasn\'t built in a day!
LeafLeaves is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 11:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 100
Send a message via ICQ to LeafLeaves Send a message via AIM to LeafLeaves
Default

my friend,are you sure that it is a dns problem?
to link up the network.dont be impatient to access websites.First of all,you must ping yourself,also your computer ip address.this is the first step.if the first step fails,you must check your network card device right or wrong.you can uninstall the network card device and reinstall it.if the step is ok,then you can continue and go on the next step.
__________________
Rome wasn\'t built in a day!
LeafLeaves is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 11:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 100
Send a message via ICQ to LeafLeaves Send a message via AIM to LeafLeaves
Default

the second step,you can ping other machine ip address.ping the isp gateway ip address.i dont know what is your isp.general,adsl is often used.yourself computer gateway must point to the isp service gateway.if you cant ping the gateway,anything dont to do next time.
__________________
Rome wasn\'t built in a day!
LeafLeaves is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 11:43 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 100
Send a message via ICQ to LeafLeaves Send a message via AIM to LeafLeaves
Default

the gateway is ok.the third step,setup your computer dns server ip address.dns server will help you to access websites through the domain name.people is hard to memory the digital ip address.
__________________
Rome wasn\'t built in a day!
LeafLeaves is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 08:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 84
Default

Can't ping anthing but 127.0.0.1 which is independent of the network card as it's the loopback address.
I can see everything on the network via netneighbourhood. I can access mapped drives. I can't ping that machine from other machines which is even weirder.

I didn't quite understand some of your suggestions leaf...which is cool as you sound like English isn't your first language..wish I could speak Italian!

No Ididn't get why I had to install netbeui, but for some reason, I wasn't getting a windows networking password logon screen with out it ?:-s

Gateway is the router ip address.
I can't ping either by domainname or server name or server ip or gateway ip etc.
So in my mind that is a dns/tcp/ip problem?
__________________
...cos we\'re travelling...at the speed of thought...UltraMagnetics
muradtalukdar is offline  
Old 03-12-2004, 12:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 100
Send a message via ICQ to LeafLeaves Send a message via AIM to LeafLeaves
Default

rellly sorry for my expressing .the conception about dns is a translation function,like the language translation.but in computers,that is not the language translating,as a matter of fact,it point to the ip address and domain name corresponding connection.from what you say above,i suspicion that you have some wonder about dns.i guess,maybe it isnt true ,dont mind,never mind,it isnot my intention.
__________________
Rome wasn\'t built in a day!
LeafLeaves is offline  
Old 03-12-2004, 01:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 100
Send a message via ICQ to LeafLeaves Send a message via AIM to LeafLeaves
Default

my friend,your machine question is a strange trouble.general,i can see everything on the network via netneighbour.that show the networking is expedite.But you also cannt ping other machine.IT is a really strange question.
__________________

__________________
Rome wasn\'t built in a day!
LeafLeaves is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.