Win2KPro Installation Trouble - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2005, 05:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default Win2KPro Installation Trouble

For one thing, when its time to install the drivers in the very beginning of the instalaltion (where it asks to press "F6") when I press F6, nothing happens. It does through the beginning installations and then it asks again if I need to install drivers and asks me to press "S." It works this time. Now I go on to the next step, it installs some more files but when it says "Setup is Starting Windows 2000" the computer freezes immidiately. This is all before I get asked to partition the HDD and stuff.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 10:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Bump
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 11:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

could be a hard drive problem, did u let it sit at that screen for about 10 minutes? try that once and if it doesnt move check your hard drive insgtallation and make sure ur system meets system requitements
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 08-21-2005, 04:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

I let it sit all night, lol. But it instantly freezes as soon as that comes up. No keys on the keyboard work.

On the Microsoft website, it says that this exact problem could have been caused by incorrect drivers being installed. When it asks me which drivers to install from the floppy disk, it gives 4 choices and I don't know which one(s) to choose.

Also, another person warned me before that it might not accept these Abit drivers that came with the mobo.
Flanker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.