Win2k Startup Freese (HELP!!) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2004, 10:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 34
Unhappy Win2k Startup Freese (HELP!!)

I seem to being experiencing a problem within win2k pro. The first time I installed it it would say "Welcome to Microsoft Windows 2000 Prosfessional" or whatever, then it would get to the end of the loading bar and get stuck. A few seconds later the color will get all screwed up. I''ve left it at this point for two hours before, no difference. Then I format my drive and re-installed win2k. First time i tried to start, it did the same thing. The strange thing is that it lets me into safe mode and safe mode with networking just fine. I ran it with /sos in the boot.ini file and it got stuck after verifying my drive partitions and saying they were both "clean." Please help me!!!!!! It's been a while since an OS has stumped me by this much.
__________________

edvosder is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 12:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 38
Send a message via ICQ to I)arkTemplar
Default

Um.. My computer with Win2KPro used to freeze at the middle of the bar, like 1/4 of the time. Then I got the new patch from Microsoft, and it works fine now.. Or maybe your Win2K disc is bad.. Iuno.
__________________

I)arkTemplar is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 01:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to T1junkie
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by I)arkTemplar
maybe your Win2K disc is bad
I think that would be the most probable answer
have you tried any other OS?
__________________
IBM/Lenovo T43 2687DSU
Pentium M 2.0Ghz
1024 MB (DDR2 SDRAM)
80 GB Ultra ATA, 5400 RPM
14.1\" LCD
Windows XP Pro
DVD-R
64MB ATI MOBILITY RADEON X300
Integrated 802.11A/B/G, Bluetooth, 10/100/1000 Eth.
T1junkie is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 04:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 73
Default

If you can get into safe mode with networking try to download some of the patches to see if that will help resolve some of your problems.
mitschej is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 08:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 34
Default

I'm in the middle of downloading all the patches and service packs, but for some reason while installing win2k service pack 4, it said something about not being able to finish the installation. I will finish all the patches than try the service pack again. It's strange how it lets me install drivers, games, change settings, etc. just fine in safe mode, it's like the intire computer is working but there's just one small item keeping it from booting normally. Anybody here happen to know exactly what the boot diff is between safe mode and normal?
edvosder is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 09:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 34
Default

Well the service packs and updates did absolutely jack didely to help me solve my problem, but with the help of a fellow windows 2k user i have sucessfully determined that the problem occurs during the transition of the windows 2000 startup screen and windows. I'm going to keep trying more things and post back here if i find anything out.
edvosder is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 10:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

in safe mode it only loads the bare minimum system requirements
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 11:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 34
Default

The bare minimum requirements.... so what all together does that exclude? I just thought about the only idea i've tried in the box, maybe a windows 2k startup disk?
edvosder is offline  
Old 01-17-2004, 05:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 34
Default

I put xp on but now i get the message "NTLDR is missing. Press any key to reboot" WHERE'S ANY KEY!!!!!!!!!!
edvosder is offline  
Old 01-17-2004, 05:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

I hope you not serious...lol

Anyways, what steps did you take to install Xp over 2000?
Sounds like there could be something wrong with the drive....

-Mike
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.