win2k pro sp4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-24-2006, 09:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default win2k pro sp4

is there ne way to get wmp10, msn 7.5, and ie7 to work on this? also where can i download an xp sound scheme? i had xp pro before, but the system was laggin on the inet, so i down(up?)graded to 2k for the preformance, and it runs great, i just miss all the cool things from xp, like syncronize device(mp3 player, wmp10) some cool features from 7.5, and i wanna try out beta7. i might do a dual boot with xp, but its not that big of a deal, i rather the preformance of 2k over the visual style of xp. wait, is there a way to mod 2k to give it an xp visual styles, like the taskbar, title bars of windows, start menu, etc...? gray is a lil bland
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 10:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

you can tweak xo to run better than the way you had it. what type of system do you have?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 10:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

a compaq deskpro model 6266, its a p2 333mhz, 100mhz fsb 32kb l1, 512 l2, 128mb ram, 120gb hdd total, dvd drive, cd-rw drive, floppy

EDIT: i got a stick of 512, but its pc133, and i get a bsod when i use it in this. my old hp(rip old pavilion) had pc133 ram, and it worked perfect, until it died on me(damned power supply)
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 10:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Your old rig was made to run 98 or 2000. XP would work but won't run that smoothly, you can disable most of the visual stuff on XP if you want.

*Turn it into a firewall/router
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 10:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

yea, this is a file server in this house, but is also my pc, and i use it for music/ whatever

i did disable the visual stylest, but it was still too slow. but is it possible to give 2k a taskbar like xp? i no sounds is possible, but, i cant find em
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 10:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Why, it would just slow it down.

You can with WindowBlinds or something, but I don't use that crap, just a waste of RAM really.
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 10:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

lol. i mean like manualy modding a file or something with paint or photoshop or something, so its natural to the system, like the startup screen, i want to change that too, make it look like the bios screen, but instead say starting up
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.