Win2k domain issues... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-17-2005, 10:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
Default Win2k domain issues...

I have a Win2k Server setup, and I named the domain the same name as our website (although the website is hosted externally). So let's say I named my domain "abc.com". When I go to abc.com through my browser I get an error. Can't find it. But I can browse every other external site (Yahoo, Google, etc.) except abc.com. Sounds like I royally screwed the pooch naming the Win2K domain as I did. I am assuming that the DNS on the Win2k Server is taking over when abc.com is entered in the browser.

Interestingly, this problem only exists as long as the Win2k Server DNS is the first entry in the client DNS list. If I make the Win2k DNS IP second and use another DNS (208.57.0.11, for example) , I can see abc.com fine. Unfortunately I get a bunch of errors in the client's event log for unresolved DNS issues. So I need to have the Win2k Server be the first DNS entry in the client networking IP settings to eliminate these errors.

I'd rather not rename the domain to something else since I've been spending the past few days tweaking everything. But I am pretty sure that will solve the problem. Anyone know a workaround to this issue? Maybe some sort of DNS forwarding entry?

Help!

Thanks a bunch in advance!
__________________

rjcarr is offline  
Old 11-17-2005, 10:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
Default

I think I got it. Thanks anyway.
__________________

rjcarr is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 01:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

what was problem?
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 06:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Win2kpatcher
what was problem?
I needed to add a forward lookup zone to DNS for www and the IP address of the site. I also had to add entried for ftp, smtp, mail, etc.

Now I have a new issue. I can reach my site by typing http://www.abc.com or www.abc.com. But I cannot get to it by typing abc.com.

Any idea if this problem is related?
rjcarr is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 09:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Most likely DNS, yes..or maybe you have to register that domain shortcut with some type of internet service for the search to be able to find the main website? Not sure how that works. I can ask our web people at work if someone cant help you here.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 01:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks for the help. If you come up with anything let me know. I haven't found the answer yet.
__________________

rjcarr is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.