win2000 or XP for gaming? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-23-2004, 06:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default win2000 or XP for gaming?

this is sort of an offshoot to the thread gone-astray .

I was wonder what other people thought was the best OS for gaming: win2000 or XP.

I run win2000 and have not had much experience w/XP. Sort of leery about XP myself plus don't want to have to do all the tweaking to get it comfy like I have with 2000.

jaksback is offline  
Old 05-23-2004, 09:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default far XP. Moreover, XP Pro!! With XP, you can set it to have the '2000 Look' which is what i have, that is if you are annoyed by XP's Eye Candy.

ADZ is offline  
Old 05-23-2004, 01:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 21

But 2000 is a bit lighter so maybe a bit faster....
Megabit is offline  
Old 05-24-2004, 08:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
HoLoCroN's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305

Most game developers make the games compatible with both OS so it really doesn't make a big difference. It is really up to you.
HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 05-24-2004, 03:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807

Been running W2K (SP4) for about 3 years now, haven't had a problem running any games yet. There is a lot of talk about how W2K isn't meant for gaming but i was surprised to see how many games I could play on it w/ no problems. I don't use XP but i hear from many users that they are generally very pleased with it. If you run a lot of older games, XP might be better -- i hear there is a 16-bit emulation mode you can use (within XP) to make the game run smoother.
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 05-25-2004, 01:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 340

I prefer win 2000 for gaming, it doesnt take much memory and has never given me a problem in 2 years
I wish I had a computer but I am broke!!!
AndrewtheGreat is offline  
Old 05-26-2004, 03:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 415

with xp, u can choose to run in a different os compatability mode, like make the game think its running on 98 or 2000 or whatever the choices are, i dont use i just kno its there

edit: so i started thinking about it so i went and looked the choices to run an exe program include: win 95, win98/me, win nt 4.0 sp5, and win 2000.

Fear is nothing but the anticipation of pain, be it physical, mental, spiritual or emotional.
Athlon XP 2200+ oc\'ed @ 1.93ghz
MSI ms-6738
768mb ddr2100
Nvidia mx420 :(
60gig maxtor 7200rpm
Dual boot with Mandrake 10.0 and Win XP Pro sp2
neversleeps is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.