Win xp or Win2k pro? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-12-2004, 11:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 18
Question Win xp or Win2k pro?

Ok my other comp is really slow, and I mean really slow. It's only 800mhz a compaq, with 256mb RAM. I have always heard that XP will only slow comps that are kinda outdated. Is that true? Does XP take more resources than win2k pro?
__________________

slick4788 is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 11:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

look at my specs, i am running xp
just scan for spyware virusses or do a format and re-install XP, it will run fine
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-13-2004, 06:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 18
Default

Yes but the argument is that win98 will run faster than winxp here, in this case.
Dang how do you survive, themajor, is your comp always lagging?
slick4788 is offline  
Old 10-13-2004, 06:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

no lagging, heavy programs like Photoshop run a little slow though

I think 2k uses more resources, not sure
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-13-2004, 07:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 17
Send a message via ICQ to _x3_ Send a message via AIM to _x3_ Send a message via Yahoo to _x3_
Default

Im pretty sure XP will run basicaly on a minimium of 1Ghz ... soo its probably best to go with something more low end such as 98.
_x3_ is offline  
Old 10-13-2004, 07:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

BS, XP's minimum is around 233MHz according to Microsoft.

U need at least 64MB RAM.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-13-2004, 07:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

I'm in agreement with TheMajor on this. I've seen his machine and it works.

As long as you configure XP to not be all facy you can run this on his machine spec.
As to XP or win2k, Xp does have more active processes at the base level then Win2k does. Win2k can run on a slower system and process a bit better then XP im my opinion, but you do loose the functionality that XP has.
There are a lot of options in how you configure a system to make it run better, and your specs are not at all the problem.
Clean up the OS, dump the extra crap from the system tasktray and extra processes you don't need. It's pretty simple from there.
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.