win xp will not install - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-26-2005, 03:39 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12
Default

yea the floppy is set to boot last
__________________

drickalmighty is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 03:53 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Check your jumpers.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 03:56 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12
Default

the jumpers are fine I tried putting it back into my old machine and the same thing is happening I think that there is someting wrong with the hdd because it is just not booting
drickalmighty is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 04:01 PM   #14 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

eject your fdisc floppy disc while and or try some of these suggestions

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=54917
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 06:26 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12
Default

ok I read the forum my problem is exactly the same thing

Verifying DMI Pool Data ............
Boot from CD :
BOOT DISK FAILURE, INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER >

Boot from CD: >

Setup is inspecting your computer’s hardware configuration >

Windows Setup
(Setup is loading files > Setup is starting windows)
>

Windows XP Home Edition Setup

Welcome to Setup.

This portion of the setup program prepares Microsoft <R> Windows <R> XP to run on your computer.

To set up Windows XP now press ENTER.
To repair a Windows XP installation using Recovery Console press R.
To quit Setup without installing Windows XP, press F3.

<ENTER>

Windows XP Home Edition Setup >

Windows XP Licensing Agreement

<ACCEPT>

The following list shows the existing partitions and unpartitioned space on this computer.

To set up Windows XP on the selected item press ENTER
To create a partition in the unpartitioned space, press C
To delete the selected partition, press D

194475 MB Disk 0 at Id 0 on bus 0 on atapi [MBR]

*C: Partition 1 [NTFS] 1994466 MB (193948 MB free) *
Unpartitioned Space 8 MB


<ENTER>

You chose to install Windows XP on a partition that contains another operating system. Installing Windows XP on this partition might cause the other operating system to function improperly.

CAUTION: Installing multiple operating systems on a single partition is not recommended. To learn more about installing multiple operating systems on a single computer, see

Microsoft Homepage

using Internet Explorer

To continue Setup using this partition, press C
To select a different partition, press ESC.


except for one thing.......I am not using a sata hdd I am using a ide hdd I have a disc with sata raid drivers on it and I tried the f6 thing with that disc for the hell of it but it is still looking like the stuff that I posted at the beginning of this
drickalmighty is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 06:40 PM   #16 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I was suggestion to try our other options when we was helping him troubleshoot. I'm not a great typer, so I didn't want to retype these suggestions. you are missing one simple step somewhere. try erasing your hard drive with powermax, then start over
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 09:14 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12
Default

well I ran powermax and it says that I don't have a hdd I also ran a prog from western digital that says that there is no problem with my hdd so I am starting to assume that I have a hdd issue somewhere
drickalmighty is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 11:28 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

*scratches head*

Something's not adding up here...
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 11:52 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12
Default

that is how I feel
drickalmighty is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 01:41 AM   #20 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default

http://support.wdc.com/download/inde...id=999&swid=23

this will make a bootable floppy. delete your partition with your xp disc. boot to floppy and see if it will partition and format. it will also put a bios in the drive.
__________________

derrmc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.