Win xp, will it erase?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-11-2005, 01:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default Win xp, will it erase??

Here's my situation:

I'm getting a bunch of computer parts for free, and I'm gonna build a comp with it.

I have another dell (4500s) and I'm planning on taking some of those parts out to use in the "new" one I will build.

If I take the HD from it, what will happen to XP? I want to keep XP, but will it erase, work, or what? I have the win cdkey or whatever, but like all prebuilt comps, it didnt come with the win xp cd.

Thanks in advance.

Oh, I found a win 95 install floppy, if that does/means anything. (lol, 95)
__________________

__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 02:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

If you take the HDD out and install it on a new mobo, there is a 98% chance that it will not boot because of the wrong drivers associatted with the new mobo and the old mobo drivers.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 02:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

The hard drive will have to be formatted no matter what,You just can't take it and pop it in and expect it to work right,Since you will have different part's you'll need different driver's and crap to run.

*EDIT* Warez beat me to it
Shumway is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 02:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default

Yes, what if I uninstalled all drivers and crap before I put it in the new one, would that work?
__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 02:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Thumbs up

Just backup what you need and reformat it...
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 02:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

I tried that before just to see if it would work, and it wouldn't even boot. It just froze!
beedubaya is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 02:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default

Would that work? I really hope, I don't wanna spend 100 on win xp. Is there anyway I can use the product key to use it on the new comp?

Could you explain what backup and reformat is? Well, I know what it is, but dunno how to do it.
__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 02:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Backup- move all important files and programs to a cd or dvd, burn them, then install them on the new pc.

Format- To wipe your harddrive clean. Removes all files and programs. Then install XP with the same key you have.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 02:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default

I don't really have any important files at all. Only some games.

How would I install XP with the same key if I dont have the bootup disk.
__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 02:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Wink

You dont have the XP CD? Then you need to get one or you are outa luck.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.