Win XP SP2 is 2gb after install - why? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-21-2004, 06:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 58
Default Win XP SP2 is 2gb after install - why?

Hi there

I posted this in the 'all not well with xp sp2' post but got no great answers.

Why does sp2 take up 2 gigs after install. That doubles the size of the initial install.

Now I guess 98% of that 2 gigs is crud I'll never need.

So what can I get rid of?

I'm tempted to look in:
windows/ServicePackFiles
windows/SoftwareDistribution

and delete files that haven't been accessed since the install
__________________

Bullit is offline  
Old 10-22-2004, 04:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

i havnt installed sp2 and i think its a stupid idea to do. its breaks heaps of progs and that would really cause me a lot of annoyance.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 10-22-2004, 08:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
CPU
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 13
Default

I thought XP was 1.5 GB on the intial install.
CPU is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.