Win Xp Shutdown But Restart Instead. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2004, 09:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2
Question Win Xp Shutdown But Restart Instead.

Hi Guys...

I have encounter a problem when using Win XP pro. I could not shut down the system when i press turn off icon. instead, it reboot the system again. Therefore, i have to do a hard reboot to turn off the system. can anyone help me to solve my problems...


NTTAN is offline  
Old 02-11-2004, 11:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 87
Send a message via AIM to radguy

do u think it could be hardware and not a windows error??

i had a similar problem with my pc where it would not stay off, it would shutdown for about a second and turn right back on.... then it was fixed by downloading an update for my motherboard

<b><center>|My Current System ( till i get more money)|</center></b><p>
Ahanix Platinum XP Case (Modded)
S-ATA 80GB HD 7200 RPM
52X48X52 CDRW
16X DVD+r/-r
512 (2 x 256) PC 3200 DDR Ram 400 mhz
CP technologies i865APE Mainboard (ya i kno nobody has heard of it)
p4 2.66 800mhz WITH HT oc\'ed to 2.99ghz
geforce fx 5200 128 mb agp 8x (ya i kno bottom of the line but i oc\'ed it the best i could)
Windows XP Home Edition SP2 (SP2 in my opinion sucks when you first get it)
Realtek AC97\' Onboard Audio
JMW 17\" Flat \"Screen\" (not panel) Monitor
P4 Approved 450 Watt power supply

Im doing ok for a 15 year old, rit?
radguy is offline  
Old 02-12-2004, 09:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2

hi radguy. i not very sure is it hardware or software problem. at first it can shut off normally. but after i install other software into it, it won't shutdown but will restart the system. i even format my hard disk and the problem still there. can you give me some suggestions??? thanks...
NTTAN is offline  
Old 02-12-2004, 10:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 164

how long have you been facing the problem ? did you recently install a prog or somthing ? if so try uninstalling that prog. i would say it is mostly a software problem.
\"you cant hold a good techie down\"
petogaz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.