win xp repair problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-01-2006, 05:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default win xp repair problems

when booting, my comp suddely started saying it could not boot because C:/windows/system/config was missing. when booting off the xp cd, and then enter to setup, then f8 to accept EULA, there is then no 'repair' option, like there normally is. what can i do to fix this problem?
__________________

joshd is offline  
Old 04-01-2006, 05:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Use a boot disk or a Win98/ME disk to boot into dos with cd-rom support and copy the file from your xp cd (/i386 folder) and copy it to the appropiate place.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 04-01-2006, 05:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

where will it be in i386?

also, what is the command? i have never used dos before, only linux. could i use that? maybe boot a live cd?
joshd is offline  
Old 04-01-2006, 05:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

i386 on the cd is its own folder with all the files necessary to run and install XP.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 04-01-2006, 05:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

yes, but will is be i386/xxx?

and what about the linux live idea?

edit: WHY is there no repair option? :S
joshd is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 10:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

did it. i did i full format, but to make sure everything was backed up i had to install a copy of XP on my 2nd hdd. now when i boot, it gives me the choice of which xp to boot to. how to i get rid of this? the xp on the 2nd HDD doesnt exixt anymore. shall i just format the 2nd drive?
joshd is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 11:30 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

You cant do this?


XP Repair install

Please read carefully and make sure you followed the warning links before initiating the Repair Install. You can print a text version for reference. repair.txt

Boot the computer using the XP CD. You may need to change the boot order in the system BIOS so the CD boots before the hard drive. Check your system documentation for steps to access the BIOS and change the boot order.
When you see the "Welcome To Setup" screen, you will see the options below
This portion of the Setup program prepares Microsoft
Windows XP to run on your computer:

To setup Windows XP now, press ENTER.

To repair a Windows XP installation using Recovery Console, press R.

To quit Setup without installing Windows XP, press F3.

Press Enter to start the Windows Setup. do not choose "To repair a Windows XP installation using the Recovery Console, press R", (you Do Not want to load Recovery Console). I repeat, do not choose "To repair a Windows XP installation using the Recovery Console, press R".
Accept the License Agreement and Windows will search for existing Windows installations.
Select the XP installation you want to repair from the listy and press R to start the repair. If Repair is not one of the options, END setup. After the reboot read Warning#2!
Setup will copy the necessary files to the hard drive and reboot. Do not press any key to boot from CD when the message appears. Setup will continue as if it were doing a clean install, but your applications and settings will remain intact.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 12:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

well, i have fixed it now, but no. that option was not avaliable. it went straight to the partition screen.
__________________

joshd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.